Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


December 10/11 22:55 pm - Exergy US Gran Prix of Cyclocross: Day 1 Harlton 9th, Kabush 6th

Posted by Editoress on 12/10/11

Nash and Powers Win Day One of The Exergy US Gran Prix of Cyclocross p/b Greenware - Deschutes Brewery Cup

LUNA Team rider Katerina Nash continued her domination of the Elite Women's field at the Exergy USGP of Cyclocross p/b Greenware - Deschutes Brewery Cup by taking yet another series victory and retained her ironclad grasp on the series overall lead.  Behind her California Giant Cycling teammates Meredith Miller and Teal Stetson-Lee rounded out the Elite Women's Podium.  Rapha-FOCUS rider Julie Krasniak continued to show strong form, coming in 4th.  Sue Butler rounded out the top 5.   Nicole Duke suffered a heartbreaking mechanical, having to run her bike across the finish line and losing several places on the last lap.   Andrea Smith claimed her first victory in the AVID Shorty Ultimate Hole Shot competition.

In the men's race, former teammates Jeremy Power of the Rapha-FOCUS team traded blows with a surging Cannondale p/b star Tim Johnson lap after lap.   Powers attacked on the last lap and Johnson was never able to come back around.   Powers nearly celebrated too soon in front of the never-say-die Johnson to cement his lead for the series overall.  Johnson's second place finish revealed emerging form at the crucial time in the season.  Danny Summerhill rounded out the Elite Podium - finishing for the first time on the Elite Podium at the USGP.  Ops Ale- Stoemper rider, Ben Berden took the AVID Shorty Ultimate Hole Shot prize. 

In the U23 competition, Rapha-FOCUS rider Zach McDonald reclaimed the series overall lead while in the Masters 35+ Richard Feldman kept his USGP series leader's jersey as did Bob's Red Mill rider, Mike McShane for the 45+ Masters.

Press release

Full results from Saturday's Exergy US Gran Prix of Cyclocross p/b Greenware - Deschutes Brewery Cup in Bend, Oregon

Elite Women, 20.4km
1 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 0:43:36
2 Meredith Miller (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized at 0:19
3 Teal Stetson-Lee (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized 0:20
4 Julie Krasniak (Fra) Rapha-Focus 0:53
5 Susan Butler (USA) Hudz Subaru 1:05
6 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale/ 1:22
7 Nicole Duke (USA) Cannondale/ 1:35
8 Amanda Carey (USA) Kenda/Felt 1:36
9 Pepper Harlton (Can) Juventus Cycling Club 1:47
10 Andrea Smith (USA) Ladiesfirst Racing 1:54
11 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill/Seven Cycles 2:15
12 Alice Pennington (USA) Team S&M 2:25
13 Katherine Sherwin (USA) Stan's NOTUBES Elite Cyclocross Team 2:31
14 Kelsy Bingham (USA) Roosters/Bikers Edge 2:33
15 Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Exergy Twenty12 2:35
16 Sage Wilderman (USA) Unsponsored 2:46
17 Serena Bishop (USA) Silverado Jewelry Gallery p/b Sunnyside Sports 3:02
18 Heather Clark (USA) Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care Racing Team 3:38
19 Courtenay Mcfadden (USA) Cycling Northwest 3:47
20 Sarah Maile (USA) Ventana Mountain Bikes 3:55
21 Devon Gorry (USA) Team Rambuski Law 3:59
22 Jessica Cutler (USA) Cucina Fresca 4:14
23 Kari Studley (USA) Team Redline 4:23
24 Beth Ann Orton (USA) Team S+M 4:39
25 Tina Brubaker (USA) Vanilla Bicycles/Speedvagen Racing 4:48
26 Rebecca Blatt (USA) Rebecca Blatt 4:53
27 Kristi Berg (USA) Cycle U-Popcap 4:56
28 Anna Dingman (USA) Cycleution 4:57
29 Melanie Lewis (USA) Cycle U-Popcap 5:08
30 Joele Guynup (USA) Condo Group/Shimano/Marin 5:33
31 Jenni Gaertner (USA) Raleigh America 5:42
32 Courtney Dimpel (USA) Team Rambuski Law 5:59
33 Shannon Gibson (USA) Stan's NOTUBES Elite Cyclocross Team 6:10
34 Katrina Baumsteiger (USA) Team Rambuski Law 6:38
35 Marsa Daniel (USA) Team Group Health 6:49
36 Alexandra Burton (USA) Upper Echelon Fitness 7:19
37 Karen Oppenheimer (USA) Yard Sale Cyclocross 7:37
38 Patricia Dowd (USA) USA -2 laps
39 Jadine Riley (GBr) Ind -3 laps
DNF Rebecca Gross (USA) Tough Girl
DNF Marne Smiley (USA) Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross
Elite Men, 34.0km
1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha/Focus 1:05:20
2 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale/ at s.t.
3 Daniel Summerhill (USA) Chipotle Development Team 0:35
4 James Driscoll (USA) Cannondale/ 0:37
5 Ben Berden (Bel) Ops Ale - Stoemper 0:45
6 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain 0:49
7 Chris Sheppard (Can) Rocky Mountain Bicycles/Shimano 0:53
8 Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha/Focus 1:03
9 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha/Focus 1:30
10 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar 1:58
11 Mitchell Hoke (USA) Tokyo Joe's 2:02
12 Christian Heule (Sui) Cannondale/ 2:12
13 Sean Babcock (USA) Kona 2:15
14 Allen Krughoff (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport 2:27
15 Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder / Clif Bar 2:45
16 Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized 2:47
17 Yannick Eckmann (Ger) Pearlizumi/Shimano 3:13
18 Tristan Schouten (USA) p/b Blue Bicycles 3:14
19 Kevin Noiles (Can) Sportique 3:34
20 Braden Kappius (USA) Team Clif Bar 3:50
21 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona 4:36
22 Justin Robinson (USA) California Giant Cycling 4:44
23 Russell Stevenson (USA) Raleigh 4:48
24 Erik Tonkin (USA) Kona/Team S&M 4:49
25 Steve Fisher (USA) Revel Consulting / Rad Racing Nw 5:22
26 Donald Reeb (USA) p/b Blue 5:23
27 Jake Wells (USA) Stan's NOTUBES Elite Cyclocross Team 5:28
28 Carl Decker (USA) Giant 5:33
29 Mark McConnell (Can) Synergy Racing 5:57
30 Scott Tietzel (USA) Plains To Peaks Racing 6:03
31 Damian Schmitt (USA) Silverado Gallery/Sunnyside Sports 6:32
32 Chris Mackay (USA) -3 laps
33 Gian Dalle Angelini (USA) Rio Blanco -3 laps
34 Josh Whitney (USA) Rocky Mounts-Izze -4 laps
35 Aaron Bradford (USA) Bay101/Hrs/Rocklobster -4 laps
36 Kolben Preble (USA) Clif Bar Development Cross Team -4 laps
37 John-Christian Flack (USA) Olympia Orthopaedic Associates -4 laps
38 Paul Lacava (USA) Giant Cycling Club/ Giant Cycling Team -4 laps
39 Jason Holbrook (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport -4 laps
40 Nathan Bannerman (USA) p/b Blue Competitive Cycles -4 laps
41 Brent Gorman (USA) Speedway Cycles -4 laps
42 Chris Jackson (USA) Rambuski Law -4 laps
43 Matthew Fox (USA) Silverado Gallery/Sunnyside -4 laps
44 John Behrens (USA) Bailey Bikes -5 laps
45 John Bailey (USA) Bailey Bikes -5 laps
46 Matt Lyons (USA) University of Denver -5 laps
47 John Mundelius (USA) Cal Giant/Specialized -5 laps
48 Cole Sprague (USA) Reed College -6 laps
49 Evan Renwick (USA) Cycle U-Pop Cap -6 laps
50 Henry Kramer (USA) Cal Giant / Specialized -6 laps
51 James Gentes (USA) Ind -9 laps
DNF Jerome Townsend (USA) Smartstop / Mockorangebikes/Ridley
DNF Aaron Tuckerman (NZl) Corsa Concepts Cyclocross Team
DNF Drew Mackenzie (Can) Condo Group/Shimano/Marin
DNF Justin Lindine (USA) / Joe's Garage
DNS Molly Cameron (USA) Ind
DNS Jacob Lasley (USA) Soundpony
DNS Scott Chapin (USA) Bay 101
DNS Nick Weighall (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized
DNS Team Oregon p/b Laurelwood brewing


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.