Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


December 14/11 19:25 pm - Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards - Have You Voted Yet?

Posted by Editoress on 12/14/11

The voting for the 15th annual Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards has been extremely brisk - already we have surpassed the total number of votes cast last year!

There are no clear leaders yet in any of the three categories. For the Woman of the Year, cross-country world champion Catharine Pendrel holds a narrow lead over Track Omnium champion Tara Whitten, with Clara Hughes only a few votes behind in third place.

The voting for the Man of the Year is even tighter. Tour de France rider Ryder Hesjedal had gone out to an early lead, followed by double Canadian champion Svein Tuft, however, Downhiller Steve Smith sent a Tweet out to his followers, and has zoomed up the rankings in the past 24 hours, and now sits virtually tied with Hesjedal, and Tuft is right behind.

In the voting for the top Individual Performances of 2011, Pendrel leads for her world title victory, followed by Whitten for her world title win. After those two, we have a cluster of performances tied for third: Claire Buchar's third in the Downhill at Worlds; Hesjedal's third place in stage 16 of the Tour; David Boily's second overall at Tour de l'Avenir; David Veilleux's 25th at Paris-Roubaix; and Clara Hughes' incredible attack in the Road Worlds road race.

If you haven't voted yet, then cast your ballot now!


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.