Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


February 4/14 9:51 am - Tour of Qatar: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 02/4/14

Kirsten Wild (Ned) demonstrated her sprinting prowess by winning the opening stage of the Ladies Tour of Qatar and with it took the leaders jersey.

Wild dominated all three intermediate sprints, taking three bonus seconds at each which advanced her overall lead by the finish.

The stage was a rapid one with an average speed of over 48km/h for the first hour of racing. The bunch soon splintered under this pressure and Team Giant-Shimano were represented at the front by both Wild  and Amy Pieters (NED).

Wild was arguably the fastest sprinter in the women's peloton last season and she has picked up from where she left off with this impressive display.

Coach, Ruud Verhagen (NED) in Qatar, said: "The team rode great today and were rewarded with the perfect result. After 60km the race split into several groups, with Amy and Kirsten up front and the rest of the team in the second group of around 25 riders.

"The second group were chasing right up until the last kilometre so the pace at the front stayed high which was perfect for Kirsten. Amy controlled it really well and then Kirsten sprinted perfectly to take the win. We couldn't have started better."

The team will look to defend this lead now from tomorrow as Wild aims to take her fourth Ladies Tour of Qatar title.

Team Giant-Shimano



Stage 1: Museum of Islamic Art to Mesaieed, 97km
1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Team Giant - Shimano 2:09:56
2 Shelley Olds (USA) Ale Cipollini
3 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products
4 Jolien D'Hoore (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies
5 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
6 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) France
7 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Ale Cipollini
8 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) Orica - AIS
9 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
10 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized - lululemon
11 Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica - AIS
12 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) Orica - AIS
13 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
14 Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
15 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Specialized - lululemon
16 Susanna Zorzi (Ita) Astana Bepink Womens Team
17 Annalisa Cucinotta (Ita) Italy all s.t.
18 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Orica - AIS 0:04
19 Chantal Blaak (Ned) Specialized - lululemon s.t.
20 Amy Pieters (Ned) Team Giant - Shimano 0:09
21 Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) RusVelo 0:49
22 Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Giant - Shimano 0:53
23 Elise Delzenne (Fra) Specialized - lululemon
24 Thalita de Jong (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
25 Fiona Dutriaux (Fra) France
26 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
27 Sarah Roy (Aus) Australia
28 Katrin Garfoot (Aus) Australia
29 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Hitec Products
30 Liesbeth De Vocht (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies
31 Julia Soek (Ned) Team Giant - Shimano
32 Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Team Giant - Shimano
33 Elena Cecchini (Ita) Italy
34 Jessie MacLean (Aus) Orica - AIS
35 Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus) RusVelo
36 Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Ale Cipollini
37 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Wiggle Honda
38 Marijn de Vries (Ned) Team Giant - Shimano
39 Aurore Verhoeven (Fra) France
40 Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
41 Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica - AIS
42 Charlotte Becker (Ger) Wiggle Honda
43 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda
44 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
45 Roxanne Knetemann (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
46 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team all s.t.
47 Elena Kuchinskaia (Rus) RusVelo 4:30
48 Wan Yiu Jamie Wong (HKg) China Chongming-Giant Pro Cycling
49 Aizan Zhaparova (Rus) RusVelo
50 Dong Yan Huang (Chn) China Chongming-Giant Pro Cycling
51 Michela Pavin (Ita) Ale Cipollini
52 Marion Rousse (Fra) Lotto Belisol Ladies
53 Emilie Moberg (Nor) Hitec Products
54 Marieke van Wanroij (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
55 Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Italy
56 Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus) RusVelo
57 Isabelle Soderberg (Swe) Lotto Belisol Ladies
58 Xiaoling Luo (Chn) China Chongming-Giant Pro Cycling
59 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Specialized - lululemon
60 Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products
61 Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) Ale Cipollini
62 Roxane Fournier (Fra) France
63 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Wiggle Honda
64 Chloe McConville (Aus) Australia
65 Peta Mullens (Aus) Wiggle Honda
66 Alice Algisi (Ita) Astana Bepink Womens Team
67 Fanny Riberot (Fra) France
68 Jessica Mundy (Aus) Australia
69 Louisa Lobigs (Aus) Australia
70 Béatrice Bartelloni (Ita) Wiggle Honda
71 Ni Man Song (Chn) China Chongming-Giant Pro Cycling
72 Simona Frapporti (Ita) Astana Bepink Womens Team
73 Zita Stricker (Ita) Astana Bepink Womens Team
74 Emily Roper (Aus) Australia
75 Anastasia Chulkova (Rus) RusVelo
76 Aude Biannic (Fra) France
77 Audrey Cordon (Fra) Hitec Products
78 Hong Yu Liang (Chn) China Chongming-Giant Pro Cycling
79 Maeia Covrig (Ita) Astana Bepink Womens Team
80 Chiara Vannucci (Ita) Italy
81 Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Astana Bepink Womens Team
82 Anisha Vekemans (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies
83 Celine van Severen (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies all s.t.
84 Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Italy 5:43
85 Claudia Cretti (Ita) Italy s.t.
86 Yuan Yuan Tian (Chn) China Chongming-Giant Pro Cycling 6:26
87 Tone Hatteland Lima (Nor) Hitec Products 6:34
88 Elena Berlato (Ita) Ale Cipollini 11:13


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.