Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


October 6/14 10:06 am - BMX Canada Cup series finale

Posted by Editoress on 10/6/14

The 2014 BMX Canada Cup series came to an end on Sunday, October 5th, in Drummondville, Quebec, with two categories decided by tie breakers to determine the Series Champions.

James Palmer of North Vancouver, BC (Yess Factory) won the men's title in a tiebreaker with Mischa Partridge of Duncan, BC (Ridge Meadows BMX), while Eliane McAdam of Calgary, AB (Ssquared Canada) enjoyed a comfortable lead in the women's category.  Both riders won their first Canada Cup titles.

Palmer rode away with the victory on this last race of the season, scoring 700 points. Palmer had a hard task ahead of him as the day started, in a position where he had to win the race to score the maximum points and hoping that Mischa Partridge would finish the race no higher than third. And that exact scenario happened.

Palmer won all three motos of the day and finished first of the race. With only three riders in the category, and with Partridge suffering from injuries suffered in Saturday's Canadian BMX Championships, Partridge soldiered on and participated in the races. He finished third of the first two rounds, and opted not to start the third round, allowing Palmer to cruise to the victory and the Canada Cup title.

Palmer finished the series with 4700 points, having competed in each of the BMX Canada Cup races this season. Patridge also finished with 4700 points, but Palmer took the title having won the Finals. National champion Tory Nyhaug of Coquitlam, BC (Redline) finished in third place with 2800 points.

In the women's category, first-year elite rider Eliane McAdam easily won the title with 4780 points, with an impressive 1300 point lead over two-time Canadian Champion Amelia Walsh of Ayr, ON (Yess Factory) in second place. Rosemary Adams of Surrey, BC (Abbotsford BMX) came in third place.

McAdam entered the Elite ranks this year, and has established herself as an immediate threat to her opponents. In the Canada Cup series, she won four of the nine races and provided stiff competition to Amelia Walsh at the Canadian Championships. Walsh won four of the five races in which she entered to finish second overall.

Drew Mechielsen of Langley, BC (Yess Factory) won the Junior women's title with 3460 points for the season. Erin Kinnie of Burnaby, BC (Team BC) finished second close behind, just 200 points back of the leader, while Daina Tuchscherer of Chestermere, AB (Factory Pure) took third place.

In the hotly contested Junior men's category, Hayden Mechielsen of Langley, BC (Abbotsford BMX) won the Series title with 3250 points, jumping from third to first, thanks to his victory on the last day of competition. Jared Ennis of Coquitlam, BC (Team BC) finished second, tied with Mechielsen at 3250 points. Similarly to the Elite men's situation, Mecheilsen broke the tie thanks to his victory at the Finals to win the title. Kiran Kawa (Team Alberta) took third place.

The top seven results were taken in consideration for the Canada Cup final standings for all categories.

Final Series Standings

Elite Women Best 7 of 9
1 Eliane McAdam (AB) Ssquared Canada 4780 pts
2 Amelia Walsh (ON) Yess 3480
3 Rosemary Adams (AB) Abbotsford BMX 2670
4 Cassidy Monaghan (AB) Edmonton BMX 2570
5 Sabrina Millman (AB) 1320
6 Margault Taupin (QC) 1320
7 Morgan Mcadam (AB) Ssquared Canada 1300
8 Michelle Berti (BC) 1280
9 Emily Macpherson (ON) Team Ontario 650
Elite Men Best 7 of 9
1 James Palmer (BC) Yess Factory 4700 pts
2 Mischa Partridge (BC) Ridge Meadows BMX 4700
3 Tory Nyhaug (BC) Redline 2800
4 Jim Brown (BC) Yess Factory 2740
5 Justin Tuchscherer (AB) B and P Cycle 2430
6 Manuel Cadle (AB) GHP Canada 2260
7 Frederic Levesque (QC) 1950
8 Cory Walsh (ON) Dikoi 1940
9 Brandon Reid (BC) Pure Cycles 1930
10 Cameron Helm (AB) Alias 1630
11 Michael Beaudoin (QC) BMX Cap 1340
12 Nicolas Londono (QC) BMX Bromont 1300
13 Mitch Warken (AB) 1280
14 Karsten Millman (AB) 2 Cycle Michael's 1280
15 Jeffrey Jacobsen (AB) Alias 1250
16 Alex Sailer (?) 1110
17 Calvin Mcrae (AB) 1000
18 Trent Jones (NZL) 680
19 Joey Trudeau (QC) 620
Junior Women Best 7 of 9
1 Drew Mechielsen (BWJ) (AB) Yess 3460 pts
2 Erin Kinnie (BWJ) (BC) Team BC 3260
3 Daina Tuchscherer (BWJ) (AB) Factory Pure 2440
4 Yvonne Kingston (BWJ) (AB) Trukkers 1800
Junior Development Women Best 4 of 5
1 Cayleigh Van Staalduinen (AB) St Albert BMX 1460 pts
2 Brianne Vanderkuip (AB) Alberta BMX Provincial 1060
3 Kelly Ann Heughan (AB) Well Green Tech 1030
4 Alexandra Plesniarski (AB) 710
5 Avriana Herbert (AB) 600
6 Emily Macpherson (ON) Team Ontario 600
7 Vanessa Whaling (AB) XanGo 490
8 Megane Belanger (QC) 280
9 Alyzee Bruneau (QC) 260
10 Audrey Leboeuf (QC) 250
11 Maryanne Roy (QC) 240
Junior Men Best 7 of 9
1 Hayden Michielsen (BC) Abbotsford BMX 3250 pts
2 Jared Ennis (BC) Team BC 3250
3 Kiran Kawa (AB) Alberta 3060
4 Tanner Vandenhoven (AB) Staats 2950
5 Gaby Malenfant (QC) 2440
6 Mackay Leslie (BC) Team BC 1650
7 Aidan Burger (AB) Yess 1450
8 Chase Harrison (AB) 1450
9 Alexandre Roy (QC) BMX Pointe du Lac 1380
10 Shelby Mysek (AB) 1010
11 Chase Kelln (AB) Alberta 960
12 Alex Wright (ON) Team Ontario 940
13 Alexis Lapointe (QC) BMX Gatineau 900
14 Raymond Fenwick (AB) Edmonton BMX 890
15 Evan Mottershead (AB) Cranks BMX 720
16 Nathan Martin (BC) 710
17 Kylar Van Ee (AB) Bert and Macs 600
18 Brock Young (AB) 600
19 Jayme Johnson (AB) 410
Junior Development Men Best 7 of 9
1 Deven Kawa (AB) Alberta 1980 pts
2 Alex Tougas (BC) Yess/ Team BC 1500
3 Ethan Burger (AB) TLD Yess 790
4 Lukas Becker (AB) 730
5 Josh Samells (ON) Ontario 600
6 Carter Pastuszko (AB) 550
7 Zac Croft (AB) 540
8 Dillon Butcher (BC) Abbotsford 540
9 Philippe Bougie (QC) Cyclemax Racing 540
10 Riley Lavorato (AB) Bert and Macs 530
11 Jacob Thibodeau (AB) Alberta 520
12 Garrett Hebert (AB) 510
13 Raphael Ouellet (QC) BMX QSA 500
14 Kevin Lampron (QC) BMX SCDD 480
15 Luke Haggart (AB) 460
16 Samuel Villeneuve (QC) BMX SCDD 430
17 Ysmael Tougas (QC) BMX Haut Richelieu 320
18 Olivier Desmeules (QC BMX QSA 280


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.