Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


December 10/15 14:38 pm - Canadian Cyclist of the Year Voting Update

Posted by Editor on 12/10/15

Voting in the 19th annual Cyclist Cyclist of the Year Awards has been underway for just over 24 hours, and already hundreds of votes have been cast. It is still early days, so there are no clear leaders in the voting for our three usual categories:

Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Female
Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Male
Best Individual Performance

However, we are beginning to see surges in voting as supporters of one rider or another participate. In the voting for the top Female rider of the year, Catharine Pendrel took an early lead, but it has shifted back and forth since then between Pendrel, Emily Batty, Jasmin Glaesser and Monique Sullivan.

For the top Male rider, we also have a four-way race shaping up, between Hugo Barrette, Raphael Gagne, Ryder Hesjedal and Mike Woods. Gagne has shown the latest surge in voting, but Woods has been consistently at or near the top.

The Best Individual Performance voting is currently led by Allison Beveridge's recent Omnium win at the Track World Cup and Raphael Gagne's gold medal at the Pan Am Games. Closely behind are Emily Batty's Pan Am Games gold medal performance and the Women's Team Pursuit Track World Cup win.

The rider voting procedure reflects the fact that it can be difficult to select just one athlete to vote for. Instead, you will be able to rank your preferences, with the top rank receiving 5 points, the second receiving 4 points, etc. The athlete (and performance) receiving the highest average "grade" wins.

From your votes we will select the top Canadian Cyclists of 2015.

Vote Now


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.