Canadian Cyclist EnergyLab 247-3 Sept23
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Sale Sale Sale Oct24
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Ruby CC1 Sept 13

Daily News


October 2/06 8:25 am - Starcrossed Cyclo-cross

Posted by Editor on 10/2/06

Clif Bar/Hagens Berman Starcrossed Cyclocross - Redmond, Washington

Record crowds, record beer consumption and a surprise winner were the most talked about moments at the 2006 Clif Bar/Hagens Berman Starcrossed Cyclocross race this year. A total of about 2500 spectators packed into Redmond, Washington's Marymoor Park to see some great bicycle racing. Andy Jacques-Maynes (Cal Giant) took the men's title, while the women's race was won by Canadian, Wendy Simms, who overcame a 3-way battle for first.

The men's main event was fast, painful, and exciting and it certainly did not disappoint the rowdy pumped up crowds who had been feasting on Pabst Blue Ribbon in the beer garden all day long. Just a few laps into the race a select group of men pulled away from the rest of the field to form the lead freight train that would never look back. This select group included Andy Jacques-Maynes, Carl Decker, Jonny Sundt, Chris McGovern, Dan Neyens, Morgan Schmitt, Geoff Kabush, and Russell Stevenson. Stevenson pinned it from the start with Kabush, Sundt, Decker, and Jacques-Maynes taking short lived attacks and flyers.

The surprising move of the day was by 21 year old Dan Neyens of the Hagens Berman Cyclocross Team who was able to get a significant gap quickly but a late race bobble ended this excellent move. With a few laps to go Decker moved up with an eye on a late charge but Jacques-Maynes had other ideas and was able to keep the wily Decker at bay and take the win. Kabush would finish third, Chris McGovern fourth, and the resurgent Sundt would finish fifth after spending 3 long days setting up for the event.

Men's Elite Race

1 Andy Jacques-Maynes (Cal Giant)
2 Carl Decker (Giant Bicycles)
3 Geoff Kabush (Maxxis)
4 Chris McGovern
5 Jonny Sundt (Hagens Berman)
6 Russell Stevenson (Benaroyal Research)

Women's Elite Race

1 Wendy Simms (Kona)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login