Canadian Cyclist Leukemia 24/7-2 April5
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
TAg Nov 24 (+225)
Flow Coaching December 18
Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Tremblant March 3 CC-1

Daily News


December 20/08 10:13 am - Canadian Cyclist Awards Update

Posted by Editor on 12/20/08

Canadian Cyclist Awards Update

There are two days remaining to vote for the 2008 Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards, and already we have surpassed the total number of votes cast last year!

In the voting for the Female CC Award, mountain bikers Catharine Pendrel and Marie-Helene Premont are still tied atop the ranking. However, Alex Wrubleski has moved up considerably in the voting, and is now within striking distance of the leaders.

On the men's side, Svein Tuft continues to dominate, and it will take an enormous, concentrated vote to displace him. Ryder Hesjedal and Geoff Kabush are battling it out for second, but unless their supporters can 'get the vote out', it looks like Svein will repeat as our Male Canadian Cyclist of the Year.

The Best Individual Performance Award this year goes three deep, in recognition of the huge number of stellar performances Canadian cyclists produced in 2008. Tuft's sliver medal ride at the Road Worlds continues to be the number one ranked performance, but Pendrel's fourth at the Olympics is now tied with Tuft's 7th at the Games for second in our standings. Catharine Pendrel's win at the Bromont World Cup is fourth in voting, just ahead of Premont's win at Mont Ste Anne.

This is the last update on the standings before voting closes at Noon EST on Monday (December 22nd). Make your choice for the 2008 Canadian Cyclists of the Year by clicking the Vote button in the upper right corner of your browser window.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
WoB Save Sale Jan29
DOrnellas Bike Sale April 1
The 11 Silber April 29
Jakroo Main Jan4 - GP
CC Advertise April 14

Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login