Canadian Cyclist Mike Giant Bars July 4 CC
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB End of Summer Sale August 21
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
The 11 Email - October 6

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Time Xpresso CC July 4

Daily News


April 6/09 15:27 pm - Vuelta al País Vasco - ProTour (Spain): Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 04/6/09

Luis León Sánchez Gil (Caisse d'Epargne) was able to hold off Samuel Sánchez (Euskaltel - Euskadi) and Jérôme Pineau (Quick Step) in the sprint to end the first stage of Vuelta al País Vasco.

"It was not a good day for us this first stage in the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco", said Sport Director Alex Sans Vega. "There was a lead group of 20 riders. Behind the first group was a second group including Philip Deignan  losing about 40 seconds. The other riders where all in different groups. It was a really hard day today."

"I felt really good today", commented Carlos Sastre after the finish line. "I only lacked a little bit of power to be with the first group of riders but I feel that I am getting stronger from a hard day like today."

About tomorrow's stage said Sans Vega, "The stage tomorrow is up and down and anything can happen so we will try to stay in the front."

Report courtesy Cervelo TestTeam

Stage 1: Ataun to Ataun, 142.5km
1 Luis León Sánchez Gil (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne 3:28:43
2 Samuel Sánchez (Esp) Euskaltel - Euskadi
3 Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Quick Step
4 Christian Knees (Ger) Team Milram
5 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team Saxo Bank
6 Joaquín Rodríguez (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne
7 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Columbia - Highroad
8 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas
9 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick Step
10 Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence-Lotto
11 Chris Horner (USA) Astana
12 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - N.G.C
13 Alberto Contador (Esp) Astana
14 Antonio Colon Mas (Esp) Team Katusha
15 Sandy Casar (Fra) Française Des Jeux
16 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank
17 David López García (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne
18 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank
19 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas
20 Egoi Martínez (Esp) Euskaltel - Euskadi all s.t.
33 David Zabriskie (USA) Garmin - Slipstream 0:42
60 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Garmin - Slipstream s.t.
82 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin - Slipstream 3:57
95 Timothy Duggan (USA) Garmin - Slipstream 5:15
116 Danny Pate (USA) Garmin - Slipstream s.t.
121 Christian Meier (Can) Garmin - Slipstream 9:41
139 Craig Lewis (USA) Team Columbia - Highroad s.t.
152 Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin - Slipstream 10:45


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
D'Ornellas Black Friday Nov 24
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
TaG Nov 24
CC Advertise April 14


Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2015 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login