Canadian Cyclist


December 18/09 9:15 am - CC Awards Update

Posted by Editor on 12/18/09

With two and a half days remaining, the voting for the Canadian Cyclist of the Year awards remains some of the tightest we have ever seen. In the contest for the top Female athlete, it is still a battle between two mountain bikers - Emily Batty and Catharine Pendrel. Pendrel leads, but It wouldn't take many votes to swing things the other way.

The Male rider competition is even closer between Ryder Hesjedal and Geoff Kabush - a dozen votes could change the lead, which is currently held by Hesjedal. Hesjedal also holds the lead in the Best Individual Performance with his Vuelta stage win, ahead of Kabush (Bromont World Cup win) and Pendrel (Mont Ste Anne World Cup win). However, there are at least three other riders easily within range.

The final category is the Canadian Cyclist of the Decade; a write in vote. There is a still no clear leader in this group either. Top vote getters include Roland Green, Marie-Helene Premont, Geoff Kabush and, more recently, Michael Barry.

Our Canadian Cyclist of the Decade voting continues until December 20th, along with balloting for top Male, Female and Individual Performances for 2009. You can cast your vote Here



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.