Canadian Cyclist


December 27/09 14:32 pm - Team Garmin-Transitions Announces 2010 Roster

Posted by Editoress on 12/27/09

Slipstream Sports LLC and its chief venture, Team Garmin-Transitions, is once again poised for a big year. Coming off the 2009 Tour de France, where the team placed second overall with two riders in the top 10, along with three stage victories at the Vuelta and success at the Tour of Britain and the Sun Tour, the team has officially unveiled its 2010 roster. Team Garmin-Transitions features 10 Americans among a total of 27 riders from eight different countries. Christian Vande Velde, 8th overall in the 2009 Tour de France, David Zabriskie, U.S. Time Trial Champion and sprint sensation Tyler Farrar will return to the squad along with stars Dan Martin, Ryder Hesjedal and David Millar.

New additions include Jack Bobridge, Australia’s U23 Road Race and Time Trial Champion, Johan Van Summeren, two-time top ten finisher of Paris-Roubaix, and expert lead-out man Robbie Hunter.

Vande Velde, Martin and Zabriskie have all renewed contracts with the team that will extend through 2012, 2012 and 2013, respectively.

“I’ve come an long way with Team Garmin-Transitions in a short time,” said Vande Velde. “I’m incredibly proud of what I’ve done as part of this team and I’m excited to see what the next three years have to hold.”

“The progress we have made together in the past two seasons shows what a perfect environment Garmin-Transitions is for a young rider,” said Martin. “I’m really excited to have the chance to continue to improve, grow and have fun in what is the perfect team for me.”

“It’s a beautiful thing,” added Zabriskie. “To commit for four years myself, and to have the team commit to me is something really special.”

Complete Roster
Jack Bobridge (Aus)
Kirk Carlsen (USA)
Steven Cozza (USA)
Tom Danielson (USA)
Julian Dean (NZl)
Timmy Duggan (USA)
Tyler Farrar (USA)
Ryder Hesjedal (Can)
Robbie Hunter (RSA)
Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe)
Michel Kreder (Ned)
Trent Lowe (Aus)
Dan Martin (IRL)
Maartijn Maaskant (Ned)
Christian Meier (Can)
Cameron Meyer (Aus)
Travis Meyer (Aus)
David Millar (GBr)
Danny Pate (USA)
Thomas Peterson (USA)
Peter Stetina (USA)
Svein Tuft (Can)
Johan Van Summeren (Bel)
Ricardo van der Velde (Ned)
Christian Vande Velde (USA)
Matt Wilson (Aus)
David Zabriskie (USA)

“We’re poised well for 2010. Our roster is strong and versatile with some of the world’s best riders returning to us, and the addition of others,” said Jonathan Vaughters, CEO of Slipstream Sports management company. “This year we will look to build on Tyler’s success by adding lead-out guys, we’ve added climbers to help Christian in the mountains and we’ve rounded out our Classics team. With Christian, Dan and David signing on for the next few years, we’ve built a foundation that we will be able to enhance in years to come. Looking ahead to 2010, we expect to be competitive throughout the year.”

Team Garmin-Transitions will compete in a full slate of international races throughout the spring and summer, kicking off with the Tour Down Under in January 2010.

Press release


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.