Canadian Cyclist ARG Tufo Flexus 24/7 Oct 27
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB End of Summer Sale August 21
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
The 11 Email - October 6

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

ARG Zydeco CC Feb 4

Daily News


August 22/10 13:03 pm - GP Ouest France - Plouay

Posted by Editoress on 08/22/10

GP Ouest France - Plouay, France (ProTour)


HTC-Columbia's Matt Goss won the prestigious one-day GP Ouest France - Plouay race in Brittany with a perfectly timed sprint. The 23 year-old Australian beat American Tyler Farrar and Yoann Offredo of France, confirming his ever-improving ability in testing one-day races. It was Goss's fourth win this season after stage victories in the Giro d'Italia and the Tour of Denmark and at the Philadelphia International in the USA. It was the 51st victory for the HTC-Columbia team in 2010 season.

Goss had been ill a few days before the race but saved his effort for the final sprint and took full advantage of some excellent work from his HTC-Columbia teammates.
They helped close the gap on a strong last-lap breakaway and two late solo attacks. Goss positioned himself perfectly in the final kilometre and then came off Farrar's wheel to win by more than a bike length.

"Plouay is a long, hard race and so it's nice to get a win. This is a big one and is really good for my confidence," Goss said. "The race is held on a very testing circuit and so it's similar to a world championship circuit: there are a lot of laps and lot of climbing per lap. It was tough, but I knew I had a great chance if it came down to a sprint. The last lap was very nervous and there was a good break in front. We knew we had to get it back and so did the other teams. It was close but then I just made sure I was in the right place for the sprint."

Team HTC - Columbia press release


248.3 km

1 Matthew Goss (Aus) Team HTC - Columbia 6:37:53
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Transitions
3 Yoann Offredo (Fra) Française Des Jeux
4 Leonardo Fabio Duque (Col) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
5 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Esp) Caisse D'epargne
6 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) BMC Racing Team
7 Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo
8 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini
9 Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
10 Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
42 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin - Transitions all s.t.
DNF Dominique Rollin (Can) Cervelo Test Team

Full results


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
D'Ornellas Black Friday Nov 24
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
TaG Nov 24
CC Advertise April 14


Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2015 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login