Canadian Cyclist


December 19/99 11:36 am - Illawarra CC Race Results 18/12/1999

Posted by on 12/19/99

The final race of the year, millennium, etc, saw 48 riders taking part in the Christmas 4 person team time trial. Even though it was advertised as a fun event, which combined one rider from each of the four grades, it was still hard work.

The time of the team was taken on the D grade rider. This was to encourage the faster riders to look after and assist their slower partners. It was not an uncommon sight to see the slower riders being pushed up the hills by their partners.

With the family atmosphere in mind it was good to see that 5 of the 12 teams had two members of the one family in the team. The Club president, Garry Doughty, was very proud to be able to have his father and son in the same team, in fact they adopted Chris Brown for the day to have an all Doughty team.

The fastest time of the day went to Hans Batteard, Mark Scott, Bob Scott and Peter Daly. Their time of 29:22 was an exceptional result. Second place went to Frank Tortorici, Lionel Covington, Graham Ward and Gordon Allen in 30:27. The third place team of Austin Pitman, Peter Kelly, Richard Lorenc and Jack Laajoki was only five seconds behind.

Following the races the Club presentations for the year were held, that was followed by the arrival of Santa and then a barbecue dinner for the members, families and their friends.

Nestle and Peters sponsored the coveted award of Club person of the year. The recipient, Andrew Telford, was unanimously selected by his peers for his tireless work and contribution to the Club. A special presentation was also made to Jan McCarthy for her assistance to the Club throughout the year.

Due to the organisational skills and eye for detail of the Club treasurer/secretary Patricia Gooley, the day went off without a hitch.

At the presentations special mention was also made of the contribution of Mike Gandon to the Club and cycling in general. A special vote of thanks was extended to him.

There is no race next week. Racing re-commences on January 2nd with race two of the 18km time trial series.

Wagga hosted a 2 day track carnival last weekend. With total prize money for the 2 days totalling $10,000 there was no shortage of riders.

In another fine display of track riding Jaclyn Kejda, competing in the under 15 girls division, virtually cleaned up. She won the two scratch races the two miss-n-out races and riding off the back mark in the handicaps a second and a third. The third place in the Sunday handicap was an excellent ride because after her second on Saturday she was put back another 10m for Sunday's handicap. Not to be deterred Jaclyn went all out and hit the front in the final bend but had expended too much energy and couldn't hold her lead too the line and had to be content with third place.

John Kejda has just moved up a division and had his first ride in the under 13s. Competing in the B grade he rode well and came away with two scratch race wins and one handicap win.

Not to be out done by his children Mick Kejda also showed that all his training is paying off. Riding in D grade Mick won two scratch races, one each of the miss-n-out races and one handicap off scratch. He also made the finals of the open handicaps but was no match for the big guns.


Christmas Four Person Time Trial 19km - 18/12/99
1Hans Batteard29:22
Mark Scott
Bob Scott
Peter Daly
2Frank Tortorici30:27
Lionel Covington
Graham Ward
Gordon Allen
3Austin Pitman30:32
Peter Kelly
Richard Lorenc
Jack Laajoki
4Graham Creed30:45
Andrew Telford
Pat Delahunty
Sid Brown
5Barry Neall30:50
Dennis Fitzgerald
Paul Dubois
Bethany Mccarthy
6Neil Williams31:02
Paul Bradburn
Geoff Gooley
Anthony Deboer
7Guy Mathiske31:05
Mick Lockyer
Frank Soto
Stephen Ruskin
Ian Cooper
8Brian Joyce31:13
Terry Wall
Adam Hotchkis
Josh Wall
9Lou Palermo32:08
Ernie Hall
Scott Turnbull
Rebecca Borgo
10Chris Brown32:48
Garry Doughty
Eric Doughty
James Doughty
11Marcus Arnold33:24
Brendan Cato
Kirsten Arnold
Max Baker
12Mal Haigh36:43
Andy Shannon
Joe Chiaverini
Jacob Shannon


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.