Canadian Cyclist
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Pre Bike Show Sale Oct12
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Ruby CC2 Sept 13

Daily News


February 29/12 8:58 am - Tirreno-Adriatico Releases Start List

Posted by Editor on 02/29/12

One of the first major stage races of the European season, the Tirreno-Adriatico, has announced a stellar cast of riders for the start in San Vincenzo on March 7th.  The race begins with a 16.9 kilometre team time trial.  There are two Canadians on the start list - Dominique Rollin (FDJ-Big Mat) and Svein Tuft (GreenEdge).

The overall contenders challenging for the winner’s trident trophy include 2011 Tirreno-Adriatico winner Cadel Evans, Italians Vincenzo Nibali, Michele Scarponi and Stefano Garzelli, Spain’s Joaquim Rodriguez, Roman Kreuziger of the Czech Republic and Slovakia’s Peter Velits.

The sprint stages will be fiercely contested as Milan-Sanremo looms large on the horizon. World champion Mark Cavendish will face Alessandro Petacchi, Matthew Goss (the 2011 Milan-Sanremo winner), Andrè Greipel, Oscar Freire, Tyler Farrar, Daniele Bennati, Gerald Ciolek, Michael Matthews and Sacha Modolo.

Philippe Gilbert leads the classics riders who are expected to challenge on the hilly stages in the central Italian Apennines. Also on the star-studded start list are Fabian Cancellara, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Peter Sagan, Alessandro Ballan, Italian national champion Giovanni Visconti, Filippo Pozzato, Alessandro Ballan, Oscar Gatto and talented young Italian Enrico Battaglin.

The full list of the 22 teams and their team leaders:

Acqua & Sapone (ITA) (Garzelli, Betancur)
AG2R La Mondiale (FRA) (Nocentini, Belletti)
Astana Pro Team (KAZ) (Kreuziger, Gasparotto)
BMC Racing Team (USA) (Evans, Gilbert)
Colnago - CSF Inox (IRL) (Modolo, Battaglin)
Colombia - Coldeportes (COL) (Duarte, Laverde)
Euskaltel - Euskadi (ESP) (Izaguirre Insausti, Txurruka)
Farnese Vini - Selle Italia (GBR) (Pozzato, Gatto)
FDJ - Big Mat (FRA) (Pinot, Offredo)
Garmin - Barracuda (USA) (Farrar, Millar)
GreenEdge Cycling Team (AUS) (Goss, O’Grady)
Katusha Team (Rus) (Rodriguez, Freire)
Lampre - ISD (ITA) (Scarponi, Petacchi)
Liquigas - Cannondale (ITA) (Nibali, Sagan)
Lotto Belisol Team (BEL) (Greipel, Vanendert)
Movistar Team (ESP) (Visconti, Rui Costa)
Omega Pharma - Quickstep (BEL) (Ciolek, Velits)
Rabobank Cycling Team (NED) (Breschel, Matthews)
Radioshack - Nissan (LUX) (Cancellara, Bennati)
SKY Procycling (GBR) (Cavendish, Boasson Hagen)
Team Saxo Bank (DEN) (Chris Sorensen, Boaro)
Vacansoleil - DCM Pro Cycling Team (NED) (Hoogerland, Marcato)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login