Canadian Cyclist


June 21/12 10:33 am - Team Garmin-Barracuda Announces TDF Roster

Posted by Editoress on 06/21/12

Team Garmin-Barracuda today announced its much-anticipated 2012 Tour de France roster. The squad is headlined by recent Giro d'Italia winner and former top-ten finisher, Ryder Hesjedal, along with 2011 top-ten finisher Tom Danielson and Christian Vande Velde, a two-time top-ten finisher. Time trial experts David Zabriskie and David Millar will feature in the three individual time trials of the race and will also provide support both in the mountains and on the flats. Top American sprinter and previous Tour stage winner Tyler Farrar will be joined in the sprints by South African national champion and Tour stage winner Robbie Hunter. Dan Martin will make his Tour de France debut, and the nine-man team is rounded out by 2010 Paris-Roubaix winner, Johan Vansummeren.
 “We have put together a well-balanced team with an emphasis on support for our leader, Ryder. We have Christian and Tom, both excellent climbers who each have had great GC rides in the Tour and have shown their strength in recent racing. Dan Martin, making his Tour debut, rounds out the climbers of the team,” said Allan Peiper, Director of Competition, Team Garmin-Barracuda. “The climbers will have the support of TT specialists David Millar and David Zabriskie along with Johan Vansummeren, who will also be able to help out sprinters Farrar and Hunter in the quest for stage wins.”
Team Garmin-Barracuda 2012 Tour de France Roster:
Tom Danielson
Tyler Farrar
Ryder Hesjedal
Robbie Hunter
Dan Martin
David Millar
Christian Vande Velde
Johan Vansummeren
David Zabriskie
Bingen Fernandez
Allan Peiper
Jonathan Vaughters
 “Having just won our first Grand Tour our goals for the Tour de France are high,” said Jonathan Vaughters, CEO, Slipstream Sports. “We are going in very focused on the GC, but we’ll be looking for stage wins with Tyler as well. This is a great mix of riders with a lot of depth and talent, and we’re looking forward to some exciting racing.”


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.