Canadian Cyclist
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Sale Sale Sale Oct24
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Ruby CC2 Sept 13

Daily News


July 10/12 21:11 pm - Cycling Canada Announces Pool of Riders for Road Worlds

Posted by Editoress on 07/10/12

Strong Pool of Canadian Riders for Road World Championships

Ramsden, Hughes, Kirchmann and Shaw in the hunt for Road Cycling World Championships

Cycling Canada is pleased to announce the U23 Men and Elite Women riders named to the selection pool for the 2012 UCI Road World Championships, set for September 15 to 23 in Limburg, Netherlands.

The Elite Women pool is headlined by Canadian Champions Denise Ramsden and Clara Hughes, who took the Canadian titles in the Road race and Time Trials respectively. Leah Kirchmann and Rhea Shaw received Automatic selection to the pool, winning medals at the 2012 UCI Pan-American Championships in Mar del Plata, Argentina, earlier this spring.

Antoine Duchesne, who won the U23 road race at the recent Canadian Championships, and Hugo Houle, who posted the fastest time in the ITT among the young riders, will also be strong contenders for the World Championships.

Tara Whitten is also in the selection pool. Whitten was Canada’s top rider at the 2011 edition of the Road World Championships, finishing in fourth place in the women’s time trial.

The selection pool for the Elite Men will be announced at a later date. The final composition of the Canadian squad will be announced shortly before the event.

Elite Women
Julie Beveridge (Calgary, AB)
Karol-Ann Canuel (Amos, QC)
Gillian Carleton (Victoria, BC)
Annie Ewart (Victoria, BC)
Jasmin Glaesser (Coquitlam, BC)
Clara Hughes (Glen Sutton, QC) [Canadian Champion, Time Trial]
Leah Kirchmann (Winnipeg, MB) [Medallist, 2012 Pan-American Championships]
Véronique Labonté (Montréal, QC)
Joëlle Numainville (Montréal, QC)
Denise Ramsden (Yellowknife, NT) [Canadian Champion, Road Race]
Rhae Shaw (Amherstberg, ON) [Medallist, 2012 Pan-American Championships]
Tara Whitten (Edmonton, AB)

U23 Men
Ryan Aitcheson (Kitchener, ON)
David Boily (Québec, QC)
Antoine Duchesne (Blainville, QC) [Canadian Champion, Road Race]
Hugo Houle (Ste-Perpétue, QC) [Canadian Champion, Time Trial]
Simon Lambert-Lemay (St-Ours, QC)
Pierrick Naud (Amos, QC)
Rémi Pelletier-Roy (Longueuil, QC)
Stuart Wight (Riverview, NB)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login