Canadian Cyclist


March 8/13 13:30 pm - Tirreno - Adriatico: Stage 3

Posted by Editoress on 03/8/13

Peter Sagan (Cannondale) powered through the rain to win Stage 3 of Tirreno-Adriatico today, ahead of Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) and Germany's André Greipel (Lotto Belisol).



Sagan beats Cavendish on stage 3 final sprint. Photo LaPresse


Cavendish retained the race lead overall and spoke to the press after the race:

The sprint: “Gert [Steegmans] brought me to the last 500m. I tried to get on Greipel's wheel, but Sagan was already there. I started my sprint early, but someone always comes from behind so I tried to hold something back. Peter [Sagan] did really well.”

The hills: “Cannondale went hard on the climb and I lost of lot of positions but I was happy to hang on. We can take a lot of good stuff from today. The climb will decide Milan-Sanremo. But I can't win Milan Sanremo - I can't win Milan Sanremo (sic.).'

Stage winner Peter Sagan also spoke to the press:

Beating Cavendish: “I'm happy. It's the first time I've beaten Mark in my career, I think.”

The sprint: “There was a climb we rode hard and I think the sprinters felt it. In the final 500m Mark had no more lead-out men. I was on Greipel's wheel, Mark went shoulder to shoulder with me but he was sporting and dropped in behind. It was good for me, anyway, not for him.”

Milan-Sanremo: “With my lack of experience it's difficult to win a Monument but I hope I get there in good condition and I hope to steal one, if not Milano-Sanremo, then I'll try to win Wevelgem, or Flanders, or Amstel…”

International Woman's Day statement
To mark International Woman's Day, Cavendish delivered the following short statement from the podium: “Violence against women is unacceptable at any time. The time to end violence against women is now.”

RCS Sport press release


Today's results from Italy

Stage 3: Indicatore (Arezzo) to Narni Scalo, 190 km
1 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling 5:15:12
2 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
3 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol
4 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) MTN-Qhubeka
5 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica GreenEDGE
6 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre-Merida
7 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp
8 Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing Team
9 Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
10 Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano all s.t.
139 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica GreenEDGE 5:00
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 11:23:08
2 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step at 0:07
3 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:09
4 Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
5 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quick Step both s.t.
6 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale 0:18
7 Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar Team 0:20
8 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team
9 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Esp) Movistar Team
10 Juan Jose Cobo (Esp) Movistar Team
126 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica GreenEDGE 5:33


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.