Canadian Cyclist


August 21/13 17:46 pm - Tour of Alberta Announces Team Rosters

Posted by Editoress on 08/21/13

The 2011 Tour de France winner Cadel Evans of BMC Racing Team, the current world's Number 2-ranked rider Peter Sagan of Cannondale Pro Cycling, and Canada's 2012 Tour of Italy winner Ryder Hesjedal of Team Garmin-Sharp headline a star-studded field for the inaugural Tour of Alberta, September 3-8, organizers announced today.

"We're elated to announce the participation of some of the world's top cyclists, which confirms our intentions of making this a great field in the inaugural year of the Tour," said Executive Director Duane Vienneau. "To have a former Tour de France winner Cadel Evans, one of the most prolific winners today in professional cycling in Peter Sagan, and Canadian cycling hero and a Tour of Italy champion Ryder Hesjedal in the same race is amazing, and will make for a spectacular experience for everyone involved."

The official rosters of the 15 professional cycling teams participating in the Tour are included below. Sanctioned by the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI), cycling's governing body with a 2.1 ranking, the Tour of Alberta is one of the highest level pro cycling events in Canada and North America.

Joining Hesjedal on Team Garmin-Sharp is 2012 USA Pro Challenge winner Christian Vande Velde of the United States, three-time Tour de France stage winner David Millar of Great Britain, seven-time U.S. National Time Trial champion David Zabriskie, and Lachlan Morton of Australia, who won stage 3 in the 2013 Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah.

Australia's top team Orica-GreenEDGE will feature Peter Weening of the Netherlands, the recent winner of the Tour of Poland and a stage winner in both Tours of Italy and France; and Cam Meyer, a stage winner at this year's Tour of Switzerland and Tour de France (team time trial).  [Note: Canadians Christian Meier will be at the Vuelta and Svein Tuft will be preparing for the Team Time Trial at the Road Worlds]

Joining Evans on BMC Racing is Brent Bookwalter, who finished second overall in both U.S. Road Race and Time Trial National Championships this year; and Marcus Burghardt, a former Tour de France stage winner and winner of the Ghent-Wevelgem classic in Belgium.

Joining Sagan on Cannondale will be current Danish national time trial champion Brian Vandborg and rising star Damiano Caruso, while Team Argos-Shimano will highlight Patrick Gretsch, a former Stage winner of the USA Pro Challenge and second in this year's German national time trial championships.

Belkin-Pro Cycling Team, the Netherland's top professional team, will be led by Dutchman Robert Gesink, the 2012 Tour of California champion and winner of the 2010 Gran Prix Montreal WorldTour race, and Jack Bobridge, the 2011 Australian road race champion and Olympic silver medalist at the London Olympic Games on the track, plus Tom-Jelte Slagter, the 2013 champion of Australia's top race, Tour Down Under.

"We've certainly attracted a top-notch field for the first Tour of Alberta," said Jim Birrell, Tour of Alberta race director and managing partner at Medalist Sports, the technical partner for the event. "The people of Alberta, and all of Canada, will be able to see Tour de France and Olympic heroes as well as many former and current national champions of their countries."

Among the other top riders announced are current Canadian National Road Champion Zach Bell, 2012 Canadian National Road Champion Ryan Roth, both of Champion System; current U.S. National Champion Fred Rodriguez; former Tour of Utah stage winner Jacob Keough of UnitedHealthcare team; Edmonton native Ryan Anderson and current U.S. time trial champion Tom Zirbel, both of Optum presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies; Will Routley of the Canadian National Team; and Spain's Francisco Mancebo, a former Tour of Utah winner and top-10 Tour de France finisher, riding for 5 Hour Energy p/b Kenda Racing Team.

The race will feature more than 20 professional cyclists from Canada and athletes from more than 20 countries.

"We are committed to building Canadian cycling through this event," said Brian Jolly, the Tour of Alberta chairman. "This event is not only great for Alberta but all of Canada. We are introducing a world-class event to Canada with a world-class field. We're on the right track for success."

The rosters are as follows:

UCI Pro Teams:

BMC Racing Team (USA)
Cadel Evans
Brent Bookwalter
Marcus Burghardt
Amael Moinard
Steve Morabito
Lawrence Warbasse
Silvan Dillier
Jakub Novak

Team Garmin-Sharp (USA)
Ryder Hesjedal
Thomas Dekker
Rohan Dennis
David Millar
Lachlan David Morton
Fabian Wegemann
David Zabriskie
Christian VandeVelde

Orica GreenEDGE (Australia)
Pieter Weening
Cam Meyer
Jens Keukilere
Aidis Kroupis
Fummi Beppu
Tomas Vaitkus
Daniel Teklehaimanot
Jiyong Kang

Cannondale Pro Cycling (Italy)
Peter Sagan
Damiano Caruso
Edward King
Michel Koch
Nariyuki Masuda
Brian Vandborg

Team Argos-Shimano (Netherlands)
Patrick Grestsch
Jonas Ahlastrand
Thomas Damuseau
Simon Geschke
Koen de Kort
Tobias Ludvigsson
Luka Mezgec
Michael Olsson

Belkin-Pro Cycling Team (Netherlands)
Robert Gesink
Jack Bobridge
Jetse Bol
Marc Goos
Moreno Hofland
Steven Kruijswijk
Tom Jelte Slagter
Dennis Van Winden

UCI Professional Continental Teams:

Champion System Pro Cycling Team (China)
Zachary Bell
Ryan Roth

Clinton Avery
Chad Beyer
Chris Butler
Matthias Friedemann
Craig Lewis
Fu Shiu Chueng

United Pro Health Care Cycling Team (USA)
Benjamin Day
Robert Forster
Davide Frattini
Aldo Ilesic
Christopher Jones
Luke Keough
Jeffrey Louder
John Murphy

UCI Continental Teams:

Bissell Pro Cycling (USA)
Jason McCartney
Jeremy Vennell
Carter Jones
Frank Kevin Pipp
Andrew Dahleim
Tommy Nankervis
Nicholai Brochner
Kirk Carlsen

Equipe Garneau-Quebecor (Canada)
Bruno Langlois
Michael Woods

Adam Farabaugh
Pierrick Naud
Simon-Pierre Gauthier
Michael Chauner
Alexander Cataford
Geoffroy Dussault

Jelly Belly p/b Kenda (USA)
Charles Huff
Benjamin Wolfe
Sean Mazich
Emerson Oronte
Fred Rodriguez
Jeremy Powers
Serghei Tvetcov
Nic Hamilton

Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA)
Ryan Anderson

Michael Friedman
Chad Haga
Ken Hanson
Thomas Soladay
Eric Young
Tom Zirbel

Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis (USA)
Eric Marcotte
Kristofer Dahl
Travis McCabe
Benjamin Chaddock
Flavio de Luna
Clay Murfet
Shane Kline
Bobby Lea

5 Hour Energy p/b Kenda Racing Team (USA)
Francisco Mancebo Perez
Robert Sweeting
Taylor Shelden
David Williams
Max Jenkins
James Stemper
Andres Diaz
Shawn Milne

Canadian National Team (Canada)
Hugo Houle
Will Routley
Rob Britton
Antoine Duchesne
Stuart Wight
Ryan Aitcheson
Jean-Sebastien Perron
Garrett McLeod


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.