Canadian Cyclist


October 5/00 11:52 am - Hardwood, Ziggy's 'Cross, Sun Tour, 24 Hour Solo

Posted by Editor on 10/5/00

Hardwood Hills National Cycling Development Center

Rob Holmgren is leaving the position as Head Coach of the Hardwood Hills

National Cycling Development Center to take a full time position with Jones Consulting. Rob will continue personal coaching and work with the Ontario Cycling Association. We all wish Rob the best of luck in the future, in both his career and coaching endeavors.

Hardwood Hills is pleased to announce that Steve Neal will be filling the Head Coach position starting in December. Steve is a certified NCCP Level 2 MTB coach and FACT test center coach. Steve has been actively coaching Ontario riders for the past three years.

Any questions relating to FACT testing or coaching can be directed to

Glenn Meeuwisse
Hardwood Hills National Development Center
RR#1 Oro Station, Ontario
(705) 487-3775

Ziggy's Oktoberfest MTB and Cyclocross Race
(courtesy Keith Peck)

Sunday October 8th, 2000.
Homer-Watson Park, Kitchener, Ontario.

Schedule of Events
MTB Race #1: Beginner Categories = 9:30am
MTB Race #2: Pro / Expert Categories = 11:00am
Cyclocross: Senior, Veteran, Junior/Cadet Men and Women Categories = 1:00pm
MTB Race #3: Sport Categories = 2:30pm

Registration for each group closes 1/2 hour prior to the race start time.

For detailed start times, distances and entry fees visit the website at:

Follow link to course maps and description information:

For driving directions:

Results will be posted at the site and submitted to Canadian Cyclist following the event.

You can also contact the store:

Ziggy's Cycling Club
2290 King Street East
Kitchener, Ontario, N2A 1A2
Phone: (519) 893-2963

Keith Peck
President, Ziggy's Cycling Club Inc.,
Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario

Herald Sun Tour, Australia

Stage 1 - Melbourne Crit 31.5 km

1 Henk Vogels (Aus) Jayco 46:36
2 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Australia Post
3 Baden Cooke (Aus) Jayco at 0:24
4 Michael Sayers (USA) Jayco
5 Remigius Lupeikis (Ltu) Echuca-Moama
6 Graeme Miller (NZL) Australia Post
7 Peter Wrolich (Aut) City Of Melbourne
8 Antonio Cruz (USA) Malaysia Airlines
9 Bart Heirewegh (Bel) Foster's Lightice
10 Kirk Albers (USA) Ballarat-Eureka

23 John Lieswyn (USA) Australia Post
35 Scott Moninger (USA) Jayco
36 Norm Carter (USA) Ballarat-Eureka
45 Scott Cochran (USA) Ballarat-Eureka
55 Dave McCook (USA) Australia Post all s.t.

World Solo 24 Hours of Adrenalin Championships - Colorado
(courtesy Chad Grenier, Trilife)

Last weekend 650 participants and 1400 spectators were on hand for the last 24 Hours of Adrenalin event of the season. There was lots happening at this event with the World Solo 24 Hours of Adrenalin Championships, the 24 Hours of Adrenalin NORBA National Championships and the hundreds of other participants participating in the mountain bike team relay.

The weather was warm and the sunny conditions made for a beautiful weekend however created challenges especially for the solo competitors as they battled the heat throughout Saturday afternoon. Many of the solo competitors experienced stomach problems early in the event and once the air cooled many starting to find their groove while others battled with dehydration and upset stomachs.

Out of the 650 participants on hand 43 were competing for the World Solo 24 Hours of Adrenalin Championships. Throughout the first nine hours of the event the top 20 were extremely close together. If a rider experienced a mechanical and lost 10 minutes on a lap they could drop 3-6 spots it was so close. It was no surprise as these top endurance athletes were competing for the $15,000 Cash Purse and the "Title".

Chris Eatough-TREK from Britain won the men's category ($3,500) with 22 laps in 23:25:04, Nick Morin from Kalamazoo, MI placed second ($2,000) with 21 laps in 23:42:52, John Stamstad-Chevy Trucks and Airborne Bicycles from Seattle, WA placed third ($1,500) with 21 laps in 24:24:14, Nat Ross-Gary Fisher from Breckenridge, CO placed fourth ($1,000) with 20 laps in 24:17:50 and Michael Madden-Salsa Cycles from White Bear, MN placed fifth ($500) with 20 laps in 24:38:17.

In the women's category Katie Lindquist-K2 finished first ($3,500) with 16 laps in 23:02:34, Monica Nelson from Edmonton, AB placed second ($2,000) with 15 laps in 24:40:12 and Cristina Begy-Independent Fabrication from Denver, CO placed third ($1,000) with 15 laps in 24:51:35. There was an early surprise when the defending World Solo Champion from 1999, Chloe Lanthier, from Whistler, BC dropped out of the race after 4:00 hours as a result of being sick.

In the 24 Hours of Adrenalin NORBA National Championships, the TREK West Coast Factory Team came up the big winner in the 4 Person Open category with 28 laps of the 9.8-mile course in 23:25:04, the most laps completed by any team. Teammates, Hal Helbock from Sun City, Chuck Jenkins from San Diego, Michael Lee from Mission Viejo and Scott Marcoe from Mission Viejo pushed hard and came up the big winners. In addition Mike Lee had the fastest lap of the event, 42:23 minutes.

In the 4 Person Open-Female category, Team DNR won with 21 laps in 24:19:57. Teammates include Teri Lugert, Suz Lowry, Liz Gomes and Therese Nielson. In the 4 Person Masters Calvary Chapel Cyclists won their category with 22 laps in 24:18:44. Teammates include Steve Conte, Mike Welkley, Rich Workman and Jack Ulstad. In the 6 Person Junior, The Boys from Idyllwild won their category with 15 laps, Teammates included Stuart Hoetger, Josh Foster, Tim Shirley, Jeremy Pietsch, Andrew Salter and Brad Westcott and all are from Idyllwild.

All winners received "Rainbow Jerseys" and the title as the first ever 24 Hours of Adrenalin NORBA National Championships.

1Katie LindquistPlymoth, MN23:02:3416 laps
2Monica NelsonEdmonton, AB24:40:1216
3Cristina BegyDenver, CO24:51:3516
4Joanne UhlmannMississauga, ON23:20:1514
5Wendy SkeanMountain Center, CA23:01:0511
6Eileen EverettPhilladelphia, PA23:18:359
7Patty Jo StruveModesto, CA15:14:119
8Chloe LanthierWhistler, BC3:40:473
1Chris EatoughBaldwin, Great Britain23:25:0422 laps
2Nick MorinKalamazoo, MI23:42:5221
3John StamstadSeattle, WA24:24:1421
4Nat RossBreckenridge, CO24:17:5020
5Michael MaddenWhitebear Lake, MN24:38:3420
6Steve FassbinderDurango, CO24:23:5719
7Duane (Ashley) MyersCalgary, AB24:28:0519
8Patrick IrwinSewanee, TX23:55:2418
9Aaron RedsickerHackensack, NJ24:07:0718
10Chris ScottHarrisonburg, WV24:09:5418
11Morgan FosterWildomar, CA23:02:5817
12Arlo BuijtenDavenport, CA23:41:2717
13Rob GrantCalgary, AB23:54:3217
14Jason VinczeOakville, ON23:00:3717
15Mike CuriakColorado, CO23:00:3716
16John DalmanSalinas, CA24:41:0016
17John MoorhouseAltima Springs23:01:4715
18Rich DillenCharlotte24:23:0615
19Todd BlincoeDel Mar, CA22:34:1614
20Brent ThomlisonKitchener, ON23:16:2114
21Ryan DraperCanmore, AB23:00:5512
22Tim AmerineChula Vista, CA23:45:2912
23Brett WolfeSeattle, WA24:18:3112
24Ray WilliamsRiverside, CA24:35:3412
25Roman UrbinaSan Jose, Costa Rica24:03:5611
26John SampsonSoquel, CA24:18:2810
27James BacaOak Harbor, WA23:01:558
28Randy WolfePalm Desert, CA11:44:4411
29Vinnie TortorichLos Angeles, CA15:26:5111
30Wolfgang FaschingAustria13:34:3410
31Erik Kish-TrierBrea, CA10:31:049
32Pat NorwilMazama, WA9:22:138
33Paul Van Der HeideNew Zealand13:58:098
34Chris O'BrienOakland, NJ1:08:251


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.