Canadian Cyclist


April 3/17 17:36 pm - Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 04/3/17

Michael Matthews (Sunweb) winner of the first stage and new leader

First stage of the Tour of the Basque Country started in Pamplona. Miguel Indurain, the Mayor of Pamplona Joseba Asirón and the president of the organising committee Julián Eraso were pn hand. After almost 7 (neutral) kms through the streets of Pamplona, the official start was given.

Right after the official race start, the breakway of the day was formed. 3 riders attacked, Yoann Bagot (Cofidis), Lluis Mas (Caja Rural) and Igor Antón (Team Dimension Data). The trio lead extended to over 4 min and was not brought back the until just 20 kms to go.

The final kilonmetres saw a a succession of attacks, one possibly successful one by Quick Step rider Julian Alaphilippe with less than 4 km to go. However, bad luck struck the frenchman, he punctured when he was just opening a gap to the bunch. Once the peloton was back together again, all riders contended the final metres with Sunweb's Michael Matthews winning the stage ahead of Jay McCarthy (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Simon Gerrans (Orica-Scott).

The only Canadian entry Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac Team) finished 116th in the same time as the winner.

Stage 1: Iruñea to Eguesibar-Sarriguren, 153.3 km
1 Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb 3:45:07
2 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica Scott
4 Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin
5 Sean De Bie (Bel) Lotto Soudal
6 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors
7 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac Team
8 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
9 Ben Swift (GBr) UAE Abu Dhabi
10 Gregor Mühlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
11 Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
12 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
13 Ruben Fernandez (Esp) Movistar Team
14 George Bennett (NZl) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
15 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
16 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Movistar Team
17 Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Bahrain-Merida
18 Matej Mohoric (Slo) UAE Abu Dhabi
19 Gorka Izagirre (Esp) Movistar Team
20 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky
116 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Team all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.