Canadian Cyclist


December 20/17 8:29 am - Rally Cycling Confirms 2018 Men's Roster with 5 Canadians

Posted by Editoress on 12/20/17

Rally Cycling is releasing their full men's roster for 2018, following the recent announcement of the team's move to the Pro Continental ranks. The team, winner of the UCI America Tour and USA Cycling Pro Road Tour, made several important additions that strengthen an already formidable roster, which accounted for 58 wins and 107 podiums in 2017.

"Success doesn't simply come from picking the right riders," said Performance Director Jonas Carney. "It's more important to provide your riders a positive environment where they can thrive. Maintaining the athletes who make up the backbone of that culture ensures that we will continue to be successful because new recruits almost always excel in our program."

Returning riders include American Evan Huffman, double stage winner at this year's Amgen Tour of California and overall champion at the Tour of the Gila and the Tour of Alberta. Canadian Rob Britton, stage three and overall winner at this year's Tour of Utah will also return to help guide the team's formidable stage racing lineup. Danny Pate, a former world U-23 time trial champion and road captain, Matteo Dal-Cin, the current Canadian road race champion and stage one winner of the Tour of the GIla, and Brandon McNulty, former junior time trial world champion and silver medalist in the U-23 time trial in 2017, also rejoin the team.

Multi-time Tour of Utah stage winner Eric Young will lead the way for the sprinters. Two-time US pro criterium champion Brad Huff extends, along with former stage winner and yellow jersey wearer from the Tour of Alberta, Colin Joyce. Canada's Adam de Vos, recent victor in Austria's International Raiffeisen Grand Prix, Emerson Oronte, second on the Oak Glen summit finish and third overall at the Redlands Cycling Classic, and Jesse Anthony, a former Tour of Utah stage winner entering his ninth season with the team, complete the group of returning riders.  New riders already announced include Robin Carpenter, Ty Magner, Canada's Ryan Anderson, Kyle Murphy and Canada's Nigel Ellsay.





Rob Britton



Ryan Anderson



Adam de Vos (centre)



Matteo Dal-Cin



Nigel Ellsay (left)

When he rolled to the line of the stage three time trial at this year's Tour of Utah, Canadian Rob Britton was on a mission. He had been preparing for this moment for years. Altitude training camps, done. Team momentum and positive environment, check. Pacing for altitude time trial, dialed. He didn't have to worry about the rest of the week. Just earn the jersey, the rest will follow.

"Winning Utah was massive for me and more specifically, it was really special how we did it," said Britton. "After I won the TT, the team really took control and there was never a moment through the whole week I was left unprotected. Winning the race was great, far and away the biggest result of my career. But the way the team rode that week was next level and so important to taking home the overall."

Britton is not a stranger to altitude stage racing, previously finishing fifth at the Tour of Utah in 2016 and third in Colorado's USA Pro Challenge in 2015.

"The win at Tour of Utah certainly wasn't an overnight success story," said Britton. "I've been chipping away at a result like this my entire career. There has been plenty of time away from home and sacrifice along that journey, but I don't think that's unique to me, that's just the sport now. I knew I had good form going into the race, the weight was good and more than anything I was pretty relaxed….quietly confident."

This week the team is in Winter Park, CO for their annual winter camp. Athletes and staff with participate in team building activities that include snowshoeing, skiing, fat biking, and paintball.

Rally Cycling Men's 2018 Roster

Ryan Anderson
Jesse Anthony
Rob Britton
Robin Carpenter
Matteo Dal-Cin
Adam de Vos
Nigel Ellsay

Charles Bradley Huff
Evan Huffman
Colin Joyce
Ty Magner
Brandon McNulty
Kyle Murphy
Emerson Oronte
Danny Pate
Eric Young


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.