Canadian Cyclist


September 27/19 17:05 pm - Zukowsky 26th in U23 Road Race

Posted by Editoress on 09/27/19

The second day of road racing at the Road World Championships was marred by controversy, when Nils Eekhoff (Netherlands), the winner of the Under-23 men's race was subsequently disqualified for drafting too long behind a vehicle, putting Samuele Battistella (Italy)in the rainbow stripes, with Stefan Bissegger (Switzerland) moving up to silver from bronze and local Yorkshire hero Tom Pidcock (Great Britain) up to bronze from fourth.  Nick Zukowsky was the top Canadian, in 26th place after riding with the leaders for most of the 173 kilometre race.  Evan Burtnik was 77th and Laurent Gervais 84th, while Pier-Andre Cote had to abandon after crashing.






Photo Gallery


"The racing was super aggressive from the start," said Zukowsky.  "The conditions made it hard and exhausting, and it got pretty cold.  The first 100 K were pretty hectic, with lots of wind that made the peloton even more nervous.  We [Team Canada] stayed pretty well positioned and Cote, Gervais and I got near the front near Ripon, at about the 100 K mark, because we knew the hard climbing was to come.  We got unlucky when all three of us got caught behind a crash on a descent and [Cote] got scratched up.  I managed to get around [the crash] on foot and got back in the group, and over the big climb with the front group, but I was on my own at that point.  I wasn't attentive enough when we turned into the crosswind and missed the split, so we had to chase until we hit the circuit.  It was a bit of a bummer, but I gave it a go.  Overall, it was a decent race for me, but I was definitely hoping for more."

Starting south of Harrogate in Doncaster, the riders covered 145 kilometres before finishing with two laps of the 14 kilometre circuit around Harrogate.  Up to the 120 kilometre mark the course was mostly flat, but narrow and twisting.  Rain and wind led to multiple crashes, and a breakaway began to for after 36 kilometres, eventually growing to 13 riders, with the gap reaching nearly 50 seconds.  The U.S. was riding tempo at the front of the peloton.

It began to splitter on the major Greenhow climb.  At 4.7 kilometres, with pitches of up to 17%, the climb quickly blew apart the race.  Only five remained of the break over the top, where the riders faced crosswinds, and the field was down to about 50, split into two echelons by the wind.  The front group caught the remainder of the break before the race entered the circuit, with the chasers right behind them, including Zukowsky.

Attacks broke apart the remnants of the field, with six riders going off the front, and others coming across.  Eventually, the leaders came down to Eekhoff, Battistella, Bissegger, Pidcock, Sergio Andres Higuita (Colombia), Andreas Kron (Denmark) and Tobias Foss (Norway).  Higuita started the sprint but ran out of power, with Eekhoff coming to the fore in the final 100 metres, only to be disqualified.

Photo Gallery


U23 Men, 173km
1 Samuele Battistella (Ita) 3:53:52
2 Stefan Bissegger (Sui)
3 Thomas Pidcock (GBr)
4 Sergio Higuita Garcia (Col)
5 Andreas Lorentz Kron (Den)
6 Tobias S. Foss (Nor) all s.t.
7 Pascal Eenkhoorn (Ned) 0:38
8 Mikkel Bjerg (Den)
9 Mathieu Burgaudeau (Fra)
10 Torjus Sleen (Nor)
11 Stan Dewulf (Bel)
12 Georg Zimmermann (Ger)
13 Kevin Geniets (Lux)
14 Kaden Groves (Aus) all s.t.
15 Jonas Rutsch (Ger) 0:40
16 Morten Hulgaard (Den) s.t.
17 Szymon Sajnok (Pol) 0:42
18 Jake Stewart (GBr) 0:52
19 Ilan Van Wilder (Bel) 1:28
20 Ide Schelling (Ned) 1:32
21 Mauro Schmid (Sui) 2:01
22 Vadim Pronskiy (Kaz) 2:55
23 Robin Froidevaux (Sui) 3:02
24 Yevgeniy Fedorov (Kaz)
25 Tilen Finkst (Slo)
26 Nickolas Zukowsky (Can)
27 Simon Guglielmi (Fra)
28 Fred Wright (GBr)
29 Matus Stocek (Svk)
30 Andre Carvalho (Por)
31 Attila Valter (Hun)
32 Masahiro Ishigami (Jpn)
33 Stanislaw Aniolkowski (Pol)
34 Daan Hoole (Ned)
35 Barnabas Peak (Hun)
36 Johan Jacobs (Sui) all s.t.
37 Aljaz Jarc (Slo) 3:06
38 Jakub Otruba (Cze) 3:07
39 Stuart Balfour (GBr)
40 Ziga Jerman (Slo) both s.t.
41 Kevin Vermaerke (USA) 3:12
42 Jasper Philipsen (Bel) 5:08
43 Idar Andersen (Nor) 5:11
44 Leon Heinschke (Ger) s.t.
45 Joel Suter (Sui) 5:21
46 Markus Wildauer (Aut) 7:44
47 Patrick Haller (Ger) 7:46
48 Alessandro Covi (Ita) 8:27
49 Gleb Brussenskiy (Kaz) 10:08
50 Ben Healy (Irl) 10:34
51 Miguel Heidemann (Ger)
52 Filip Maciejuk (Pol) both s.t.
53 Harrison Sweeny (Aus) 10:39
54 Markus Pajur (Est) 12:11
55 Marijn Van Den Berg (Ned) 12:42
56 Luc Wirtgen (Lux)
57 Carlos Salgueiro (Por)
58 Juan Calle Hurtado (Col)
59 Jens Reynders (Bel)
60 Patrick Gamper (Aut)
61 Tomas Barta (Cze)
62 Mathias Jorgensen (Den)
63 Siim Kiskonen (Est)
64 Julian David Molano Benavides (Col)
65 Inigo Elosegui Momene (Esp)
66 Valerii Fatkullin (Rus)
67 Venantas Lasinis (Ltu)
68 Stefan Kolb (Aut)
69 Jaka Primozic (Slo)
70 Gregorio Ferri (Ita)
71 Matthew Walls (GBr)
72 Szymon Krawczyk (Pol)
73 Henok Mulueberhan (Eri)
74 Adam Karl (Hun)
75 Artur Sowinski (Pol)
76 Joao Almeida (Por)
77 Evan Burtnik (Can)
78 Giovanni Aleotti (Ita)
79 Oscar Bazan Claveles (Arg)
80 Theo Delacroix (Fra)
81 Roger Adria Oliveras (Esp)
82 Gleb Kugaevski (Rus)
83 Marc Oliver Pritzen (RSA)
84 Laurent Gervais (Can)
85 Paul Wright (NZl)
86 Petr Rikunov (Rus)
87 Martin Bugge Urianstad (Nor)
88 Ludvik Aspelund Holstad (Nor)
89 Xianjing Lyu (Chn)
90 Ian Garrison (USA)
91 Eddy Fine (Fra)
92 Arthur Kluckers (Lux)
93 Jaakko Hanninen (Fin)
94 Vitor Zucco Schizzi (Bra)
95 Colin Heiderscheid (Lux)
96 Michel Ries (Lux)
97 Jonas Iversby Hvideberg (Nor)
98 Daniel Dina (Hun) all s.t.
99 Veljko Stojnic (Srb) 12:47
100 Matis Louvel (Fra) 12:55
101 Petr Kelemen (Cze) 15:53
102 Mikhail Fokin (Rus) 18:02
103 Adam Foltan (Svk) 20:35
104 Lukas Kubis (Svk)
105 Matteo Jorgenson (USA)
106 Jason Oosthuizen (RSA)
107 Samuel Jenner (Aus)
108 Luis Enrique Lopez (Hon)
109 Nicholas White (Aus)
110 Biniam Girmay Hailu (Eri) all s.t.
111 Ziga Horvat (Slo) 20:37
112 Shunsuke Imamura (Jpn) s.t.
113 Ka Hoo Fung (HKg) 25:03
DSQ Alexander Konychev (Ita)
DSQ Andreas Nielsen (Den)
DSQ Nils Eekhoff (Ned)
DNF Alberto Dainese (Ita)
DNF Brent Van Moer (Bel)
DNF Stan Van Tricht (Bel)
DNF MADSEN Hindsgaul (Den)
DNF Valentin Ferron (Fra)
DNF Francisco Galvan Fernandez (Esp)
DNF Carmelo Urbano Fontiveros (Esp)
DNF Daniel Habtemichael (Eri)
DNF Natnael Tesfazion (Eri)
DNF icolas David Gomez Jaramillo (Col)
DNF Emanuel Duarte (Por)
DNF Tobias Bayer (Aut)
DNF Karl Patrick Lauk (Est)
DNF Shoi Matsuda (Jpn)
DNF Liam Magennis (Aus)
DNF Erik Fetter (Hun)
DNF Moise Mugisha (Rwa)
DNF Samuel Mugisha (Rwa)
DNF Ethan Batt (NZl)
DNF James Fouche (NZl)
DNF Jose Eduardo Autran Carrillo (Chi)
DNF Guillermo Andres Beltran Santillana (Chi)
DNF Diego Agustin Ferreyra Geldrez (Chi)
DNF Lance Haidet (USA)
DNF Brandon Mcnulty (USA)
DNF Jose Luciano Martinez Ronconi (Arg)
DNF Paul Daumont (Bur)
DNF Tyler Cole (Tto)
DNF Yahor Shpakouski (Blr)
DNF Erik Bergstrom Frisk (Swe)
DNF Jacob Eriksson (Swe)
DNF Hugo Forssell (Swe)
DNF Emil Lindgren (Swe)
DNF Ognjen Ilic (Srb)
DNF Byron Munton (RSA)
DNF Lorant Balazsi (Rou)
DNF Emil Dima (Rou)
DNF Pier Andre Cote (Can)
DNF Hasani Hennis (Aia)
DNF Kwan Lok Choi (HKg)
DNF Pak Hang Ng (HKg)
DNF Kai Kwong Tso (HKg)

Vallieres Mill Tenth in Junior Women's Road Race

Rohan Dennis Dominates Worlds TT

Dygart Dominates Elite Women's TT, Canuel 12th

Road Worlds: U23 Men ITT results
Road Worlds Day 2 - Junior Women & Men ITTs

Road Worlds: Junior Women ITT results

Road Worlds: Junior Men ITT results



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.