Canadian Cyclist


December 19/19 8:48 am - Cycling Canada Announces Annual Award Winners

Posted by Editoress on 12/19/19

Cycling Canada is pleased to recognize the individuals, athletes, organizers and events that have had significant impacts on the sport in Canada in 2019. A fantastic year of bike races and world class performances are being recognized for contributing and growing passion for the sport in Canada.

"The 2019 season was exceptionally exciting with so many great events showcasing the various disciplines across Canada," said Cycling Canada President Pierre LaFlamme. "Amazing coaches continued their tireless work developing elite and next generation talents, and Canadian athletes showcased our countries world-class talent on the domestic and international stage. We are thrilled to present these awards to the deserving recipients who are helping to build momentum for our sport on home soil and abroad."



President's Trophy - Tristen Chernove (center)



Russ Copeland Award - Tristan Jussaume



UCI MTB World Championships at Mont-Ste-Anne



Canadian XCO MTB Championships at Hardwood Ski and Bike



UCI Pan-American Cyclocross Championships



With amazing events spanning the country from coast-to-coast, stand out events in each category set the bar high. CykelHaus Race Promotions brought the UCI Pan-American Cyclocross Championships to Midland, Ontario, and Mont Sainte Anne, Quebec, hosted the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships, bringing some of the best athletes in the world to Canadian soil. Many other events gave Canadians the opportunities to develop their skills domestically.

Tristan Jussaume is being recognized with Russ Copeland Award for best Junior rider of the year and Tristen Chernove was awarded the President's Trophy for the best performance in competition at the World Championships.

The Torchy Peden Award for 2019 was presented to Cycling BC in recognition of the growth of their iRide and junior membership programs as well as their contributions towards the development of a national grassroots development program.

Event of the Year
Road - Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix Society - BC
Mountain Bike - Mountain Bike Canada Cup XCO - Club Cycliste Charlevoix - Baie-Saint-Paul, QC
BMX Freestyle - Joyride BMX Park International - Joyride 150 - Markham, ON
BMX - Calgary BMX Canada Cup - Calgary, AB
Paracycling - Défi sportif AlterGo - Montréal, QC
Cyclocross - CykelHaus Race Promotions - Pan-American Cyclocross Championships - Midland, ON
Track - Western Challenge - Burnaby Velodrome Club - Burnaby, BC
Canadian Championships - Canadian XCO MTB Championships- Pulse Racing - Oro Station, ON
International Event - UCI MTB World Championships Presented by Mercedes-Benz - Corporation Événements d'été de Québec - Mont Sainte Anne, QC

National Commissaire of the Year - Marko Rosic / BC
International Commissaire of the Year - Adrien Lévesque / NB

Recognition Award for Coach of the Year
Road - Christopher Rozdilsky / QC
MTB - Mike Charuk / BC
Cyclocross - David Gagnon / QC
Para-cycling - Eric Van Den Eynde / QC
Track - Yannick Bedard / QC

Torchy Peden Award - Cycling BC

Russ Copeland Award - Tristan Jussaume / QC

President's Trophy - Tristen Chernove / BC

BC Builder of the Year - Yves Blouin / QC


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.