Canadian Cyclist


December 6/03 2:44 am - CCA AGM Update, Wohlberg Finds Team

Posted by Editor on 12/6/03

CCA AGM Update

Meetings began yesterday evening here in Victoria for the Canadian Cycling Association's Annual General Meeting. The AGM itself doesn't take place until Sunday morning (December 7th), but there are Committee and Board meetings scheduled today and tomorrow, and the PacificSport Gala tomorrow evening.

One of the most important aspects of the AGM is the elections. Nominations close tomorrow morning, however, here is what we know so far about who will be running:


Two 2 year terms are up for election, with the terms of Lesley Tomlinson and Paul Carter ending. Thus far, the following names have been put forward:

Lesley Tomlinson (BC)
Luc Bujold (NB)
Linda Jackson (ON)
Aaron Hershoff (NB)
Mark Bonham (ON)

High Performance Committee

Chair - Kris Westwood, Ontario. Incumbent Yvan Waddell will not be running.

National Team Program - Denise Kelly, Ontario

Development Team Program - no candidate

Athletes with Disability Program - Chantal Philie, QC vs Dave Benson, MB

Athlete and Coach Development

Chair - Lister Farrar, BC. Incumbent

Road and Track Representative - no candidate

Events Committee

Member at Large - Claire Bonin (BC) vs Kevin MacCuish (NS) and Adam Ruppel (ON - Incumbent)

Officials Committee

Chair - Wayne Pomario, BC. Incumbent

Mountain Bike Official - Jim Bratrud, BC

It is still possible that we could see some additional nominees between tonight and tomorrow morning.

Wohlberg to Sierra Nevada

Eric Wohlberg and New Zealand's Glen Mitchell have joined Trent Klasna on the Sierra Nevada Cycling Team for 2004. Both Wohlberg and Klasna were mainstays on Saturn, until the title sponsor announced that they would be leaving the sport after this year.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.