Canadian Cyclist


May 3/04 9:56 am - Ontario MTB Cup #1

Posted by Editoress on 05/3/04

Ontario Cup #1 Dagmar, May 1 & 2
Courtesy Chico Racing

Destined for legend in Ontario Cup history the Bonham & Co. Ontario Cup #1 didn't disappoint the 609 tried and true riders who championed through some adverse weather and course conditions. The chubby rain couldn't dampen the spirits of those truly hardcore enough to test their might.

The Elite Men's X-Country race saw many fit riders including some who flew North after a stay at some nesting grounds down South. Canada Cup Champ Jesse "Mudrat" Jakomait took the men's race over his two Gears Racing team mates Andrew Watson and Greg Reain. The women's race saw Emily Batty, Bay Cycle, turn the mud into a cake walk with Stephanie Martinek and west coast rider Amanda Sin, Schwalbe Cycling Club, rounding out the top 3.

Short track racing was a great spectacle with Greg Reain taking an early lead and overpowering a group including chasing riders lead by Derek Zandstra and Junior Mark Batty (both Bay Cycle). Emily Batty won the women's short track with Amanda Sin and Stephanie Martinek following.

Thanks to all those who participated and to our volunteers, staff, Dagmar and our sponsors including Stoney Ridge Winery, Sisu, Ecclestone Cycle, Bay Cycle, Cycle Solutions, Gears Racing, Outpost Magazine, Sugoi, Mars, Ryders, Norco Performance Bikes, Yamaha and the Ontario Cycling Association.

Junior (17-18) Expert Male
1. Mark Batty 3 Rox Racing)1:47:59.69
2. Adam Morka (Team Hardwood)1:49:52.39
3. Chris Thorpe (3 Rox Racing)1:55:01.59
4. Kyle Douglas (3 Rox Racing)1:57:20.24
5. Jason Duffy2:01:23.38
6. Luc Mahler (AO Bikes + Boards Racing)2:03:41.14
7. Codet Mat2:16:43.81
8. Thomas Wood (The Epic Ride)2:17:16.70
9. Evan MacAlpine (Team McBride - Fit Fix/Simcoe)2:23:47.45
10. Blair Taylor (Team McBride - Fit Fix/Ashburn)2:28:26.39
11. Adam Bradshaw (Team Hardwood)2:31:51.99
12. Brandon Schmidt3:05:09.46
The following riders did less laps
13. Alexander Fulton (Ottawa Bicycle Club)1:46:15.91
DNF. Dave Reid (Team McBride - Fit Fix)
DNF. Eric Robertson
DNF. Jeffery Eades (
DNF. Keith Gauld (Team McBride - Fit Fix/Simcoe)
DNF. Cameron Jette (The Epic Ride)
DNF. Mathew Bell (Team Hardwood)
Senior Pro-Elite Male
1. Jesse Jakomait (
2. Andrew Watson (
3. Greg Reain (
4. Derek Zandstra (3 Rox Racing)2:22:57.49
5. Osmond Bakker (Catena Net.Cycle Logik Racing)2:23:05.09
6. Tristan Galbraith2:25:27.34
7. Kevan Cranmer (McMaster CC)2:33:14.16
8. Tim Oliver (
9. Michael Pennis2:38:35.95
10. David Dermont (True North Cycles)2:39:03.63
11. Matt Patterson (from Whitby)2:40:41.71
12. John Van Arragon (True North Cycles)2:43:07.24
13. Gordon Ruder2:46:59.45
14. Jason Rody (JAW Racing Team)2:52:53.60
15. Matthew Fawcett2:53:20.67
16. Olmighti Quillao2:54:46.68
The following riders did less laps
17. Justin Hines (Team McBride - Fit Fix)2:02:10.39
18. Ben Dawson (Team McBride - Fit Fix)2:03:17.36
19. Matthew Richter (AO Bikes + Boards Racing)2:08:46.22
20. Peter Glassford (The Epic Ride)2:14:25.70
DNF. Martin Lazarski (
DNF. Andrew Erb (JAW Racing Team)
DNF. Eric Batty (3 Rox Racing)
DNF. Matt Douglas (3 Rox Racing)
DNF. Adam Lucas
DNF. Adam McClounie (Maple Leaf CC)
DNF. Timothy Carleton (Sports Swap Racing)
Senior Pro-Elite Female
1. Emily Batty (3 Rox Racing)2:05:42.75
2. Stephanie Martinek2:10:28.38
3. Amanda Sin (Schwalbe Cycling Club)2:17:27.69
4. Susan Trimble (
5. Celine Foreht2:25:26.33
6. Michelle Cordy2:26:00.43
7. Cydney Galbraith2:27:11.68
8. Lisa Hoskins (Team Hardwood)2:31:12.96
9. Kate Scallion2:40:20.97
10. Kim Haagmans-Hawke (Team Lifesavers)2:41:37.35
11. Diana Joness (Elite Racing Association)2:42:40.13
12. Catherine Vipond (
13. Heather Morrissey (Team McBride - Fit Fix)2:46:42.82
14. Sarah Hills (Fly Gurlz)2:47:07.71
15. Kerri Graham2:48:10.59
16. Jill Vale (
DNF. Heather Stanley (Team Hardwood)
DNF. Allison Lampi (KHS Bicycles Canada)
DNF. Mary-Ellen Ash (3 Rox Racing)

Results for all other categories posted at


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.