Canadian Cyclist EnergyLab 247-1 Sept23
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Sale Sale Sale Oct24
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Roubaix CC1 Sept 13

Daily News


July 15/04 9:33 am - Tour Stage 11 (Brief)

Posted by Editor on 07/15/04

Tour de France

Another "mild" day of climbing (three Cat.4, one Cat. 3 and one Cat. 2), and another breakaway that the peloton were not interested in chasing down. Three riders this time - David Moncoutie (Cofidis), Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Fassa Bortolo) and Egoi Martinez (Euskaltel - Euskadi) - who went away at the second climb of the day (Cat. 3 Cote de Therondels). The trio reached a maximum gap of over 8 minutes, which dropped to six by the finish. The leaders worked well together until about 10 kilometres to go, when Giannoni tried an attack. He was brought back by Martinez, and then Moncoutie launched a decisive counter-attack which the other two could not respond to. Moncoutie soloed in over two minutes ahead of Giannoni, who outsprinted Martinez for second. Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) outsprinted Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) for fourth. No changes to any of the Leader Jerseeys.

Stage 11 - St Flour to Figeac 164 km

1 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis - Le Credit Par Telephone 3:54:58
2 Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Esp) Fassa Bortolo at 2:15
3 Egoi Martinez (Esp) Euskaltel - Euskadi 2:17
4 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole 5:58
5 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team
6 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Domo
7 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick Step-Davitamon
8 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner
9 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal - Berry Floor
10 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis - Le Credit Par Telephone
11 Georg Totschnig (Aut) Gerolsteiner
12 Scott Sunderland (Aus) Alessio-Bianchi
13 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile Team
14 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere
15 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Rabobank
16 Laurent Brochard (Fra) AG2R Prevoyance
17 Michele Bartoli (Ita) Team CSC
18 Francisco Mancebo Perez (Esp) Illes Balears - Banesto
19 Aitor Gonzalez Jimenez (Esp) Fassa Bortolo
20 Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Lotto-Domo all s.t.


1 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Brioches La Boulangere 46:43:10
2 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis - Le Credit Par Telephone at 3:00
3 Sandy Casar (Fra) 4:13
4 Richard Virenque (Fra) Quick Step-Davitamon 6:52
5 Jakob Piil (Den) Team CSC 7:43
6 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal - Berry Floor 9:35
7 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team 9:58
8 Jose Azevedo (Por) US Postal - Berry Floor 10:04
9 Jose Enrique Gutierrez (Esp) Phonak Hearing Systems 10:09
10 Francisco Mancebo Perez (Esp) Illes Balears - Banesto 10:18
11 Tyler Hamilton (USA) Phonak Hearing Systems s.t.
12 Santos Gonzalez (Esp) Phonak Hearing Systems 10:19
13 Andreas Kloden (Ger) T-Mobile Team 10:20
14 Oscar Sevilla (Esp) Phonak Hearing Systems 10:26
15 George Hincapie (USA) US Postal - Berry Floor
16 Jose Luis Rubiera (Esp) US Postal - Berry Floor 10:27
17 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile Team 10:30
18 Bobby Julich (USA) Team CSC 10:42
19 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Rabobank 10:50
20 Ivan Basso (Ita) Team CSC 10:52
21 Michele Bartoli (Ita) Team CSC 10:59


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login