Canadian Cyclist Leukemia 24/7-1 April5
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
TAg Nov 24 (+225)
Flow Coaching December 18
Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Specialized Spring Into Summer CC1 May 5

Daily News


July 22/05 1:04 am - Tour de l'Abitibi: Stage 4 & 5

Posted by Editoress on 07/22/05

Tour de l’Abitibi Val-d’Or QC
Courtesy Tour de l’Abitibi

Victory for the Belgium team on their National Holiday

The 83.7 km road race from Senneterre to Val-d’Or was won by Philipp Tomasso of team VC Ardennes by a final sprint in 1 hour 41 minutes and 23 seconds.

America’s Cycling Mike Wickman finished second and Team USA’s Daniel Holloway finished third.

Tomasso, Wickman and Quebecois William Goodfellow completed the road race in the lead.

The main pack led by Eric Boily of Team Canada worked really hard to catch up to the trio but was unable to do so.

While there were many breakaways in the first road race, today’s race had only one. It was made up of eleven racers. Among the eleven were Quebecois Joel Dion-Poitras and Alexandre Garant but no team Canada members.

A 50 rider crash allowed the main pack to catch up to the leaders and regroup just before reaching Val-d’Or.

After today’s stage, the brown jersey still belongs to David Veilleux of Team Canada. Overall, points leader Daniel Holloway regained his orange jersey. Team Canada’s Mark Hinnen wears the blue jersey for first year junior.

Earlier today in the individual time trial Eric Boily proved that last year was not just luck by dominating this event with 30 seconds lead over Jonas Bjelkmark of team Sweden. David Veilleux finished third.

The third road race will be held tomorrow between Amos and Val-d’Or, a distance of 116,3 km.


Stage 4
1. Éric Boily (Canada), 19:48:57
2. Jonas Bjelkmark (Sweden), at 0:30
3. David Veilleux (Canada), 0:36
4. Nick Frey (Hot Tubes), 0:47
5. Brooke Boocock (Canada), 0:49
6. Mark Hinnen (Canada), 1:01
7. Matthew Bell (Ontario), 1:08
8. Alex Boyd (Hot Tubes), 1:18
9. Ryan Anderson (Canada), 1:19
10. Jimmy Feely (Minnesota), 1:21

Stage 5
1. Philipp Tomasso (Belgium/VC Ardennes ), 1:41:23
2. Mike Wickman (America's Cycling), at s.t.
3. Daniel Holloway (USA), 0:01
4. Kevin Reza (France/Pole Espoirs)
5. David Veilleux (Canada)
6. Brian Naulleau (France/Pole Espoirs)
7. Alexander Doyle (Dynamiks de Contrecoeur)
8. Jeroen Van Schelven (Belgium/VC. Ardennes)
9. Éric Boily (Canada)
10. Koji Okubo (Japan), all s.t.



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
WoB Save Sale Jan29
DOrnellas Bike Sale April 1
The 11 Silber April 29
Jakroo Main Jan4 - GP


Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login