Canadian Cyclist Time Aktiv July 4 24-7
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB End of Summer Sale August 21
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
The 11 Email - October 6

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Time Xpresso CC July 4

Daily News


October 27/05 10:20 am - England Announces Cycling Team for Melbourne 2006

Posted by Editoress on 10/27/05

England announces Cycling team for Melbourne 2006
Courtesy Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games Council for England has announced the Cycling team that will be heading to the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games.

Olympic medallist, Mr Bradley Wiggins is a favourite to win, having won gold in the Men's Individual Pursuit, silver in the Team Pursuit and bronze in Madison in Athens 2004.

Mr John Queally, who won gold at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games in the Kilo Time Trial event, was also named for the team.

The English team will feature several promising young cyclists including Mr Ian Stannard, gold medallist in the Men's Time Trial, Ms Nikki Harris, gold medallist in the Women's Mountain Bike event, and Mr Matthew Crampton, Ms Amy Hunt and Mr Ben Swift who all competed in the 2004 Commonwealth Youth Games in Bendigo.

England won 5 silver medals and 6 bronze at the 2002 Manchester Commonwealth Games.

The England 2006 Cycling team includes:

Oli Beckingsale, Ed Clancy, Matthew Crampton, Steve Cummings, Stuart Dangerfield, Emma Davies Jones, Russell Downing, Charlotte Goldsmith, Nikki Harris, Rob Hayles, Rachel Heal, Wendy Houvenaghel, Amy Hunt, Liam Killeen, Paul Manning, Chris Newton, Victoria Pendleton, Jason Queally, Simon Richardson, Robin Sharman, Jamie Staff, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift, Andrew Tennant and Bradley Wiggins.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
D'Ornellas Black Friday Nov 24
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
TaG Nov 24
CC Advertise April 14


Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2015 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login