Canadian Cyclist Specialized Levo 247-1 June9
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
GFTO button June 23
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Specialized Levo CC2 June9

Daily News


December 22/09 22:01 pm - Vuelta Ciclista Internacional a Costa Rica - Stage 7

Posted by Editoress on 12/22/09

Colombian Julián Rodas, of Team Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia- won Tuesday's seventh stage at the 45th Vuelta Ciclista Internacional a Costa Rica, with defending champion Gregory Brenes -BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS- hanging onto the overall lead.

Both riders were in the breakaway of the day, along with Janier Acevedo (Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia) and Juan Carlos Rojas (Plycem-JPS-Orbea), who now appear to be the most likely candidates to this year's title. The four covered the 144 kilometre course 4:09:56. Stage seven's route joined the communities of Guápiles, in the Caribbean province of Limón, and Oreamuno, in Cartago.

The four riders overcame the Category 2 mountain port of La Victoria together and forged a significant gap on the rest of the possible contenders. It seems that riders such as José Bonilla, Marconi Durán and Henry Raabe will now have their work cut out to get back on the potential winners short list.

Brenes leads the individual classification with a total time of 23:47:12. Acevedo is only 10 seconds behind, while Rojas and today's winner Rodas are at 14 seconds disadvantage.

However, a mistake can still determine the final outcome, and it might take place tomorrow on stage eight, the feared and traditional climbing time trial of the Costa Rican Tour. This year's 13.6 kilometre course is going to be completed between the city of Cartago and the rural community of Santa Rosa de Oreamuno, located in the low lands of the Irazú Volcano.

This is one of the biggest challenges of La Vuelta because of its 20% gradient; the cold temperatures and the impossibility of drafting off of other racers... It is just the men against the clock. The first ITT of the event might represent the perfect chance for the yellow jersey holder to get off his rivals, but it is also an opportunity for them to catch and pass the current leader.

Stage 7: Guápiles to Oreamuno 144 Km
1 Julián Rodas (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia 4:09:56
2 Juan Carlos Rojas (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea
3 Janier Acevedo (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia
4 Gregory Brenes (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS all s.t.
5 Fabricio Quirós (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 2:45
6 José A. Bonilla (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 3:32
7 Marconi Durán (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 3:47
8 Marco Salas (CRc) Grupo ICE
9 Allan Morales (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS
10 Nicolás Castro (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia
11 Jesús Castaño (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia all s.t.
12 Federico Ramírez (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 7:25
13 Paulo Vargas (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 7:26
14 Henry Raabe (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 7:27
15 César Rojas (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 7:31
33 Cory Wallace (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 21:20
43 Cody Canning (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 24:29
59 Vincent Veilleuz (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 36:14
65 Charles Thibault (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 40:41
DNF Marvin Guzman (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH
1 Gregory Brenes (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 23:47:12
2 Janier Acevedo (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia at 0:10
3 Juan Carlos Rojas (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 0:14
4 Julián Rodas (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia s.t.
5 José Adrián Bonilla (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 3:37
6 Fabricio Quirós (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 4:33
7 Jesús Castaño (Col) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 5:32
8 Marconi Durán (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 5:44
9 Marco Salas (CRc) Grupo ICE 6:54
10 Federico Ramírez (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 9:18
11 Henry Raabe (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 9:23
12 Paulo Vargas (CRc) PlycemJPS-Orbea 9:36
13 Pablo Araya (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 9:39
14 César Rojas (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 9:50
15 Steven Villalobos (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 13:52
32 Cory Wallace (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 38:12
51 Cody Canning (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 1:14:51
56 Vincent Veilleuz (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 1:25:14
61 Charles Thibault (Can) Tour D'Quebec-GTH 1:44:37
Points Classification
1 Julián Rodas (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia 65 pts
2 Juan Carlos Rojas (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 63
3 Gregory Brenes (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 59
Best Climber Classification
1 Janier Acevedo (Col) Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia 24 pts
2 Juan Carlos Rojas (CRc) Plycem-JPS-Orbea 16
3 Gregory Brenes (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 14
U23 Classification
1 Gregory Brenes (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS 23:47:12
2 Fabricio Quirós (CRc) BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS at 4:33
Sprints Classification
1 Eduardo Garita (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 18 pts
2 Marco Guillén (CRc) Grupo ICE 17
3 Douglas Offer (CRc) Citibank-Economy Rent a Car-Blue 10
Teams Classification
1 Greatwall-Indeportes Antioquia (Colombia 71:01:59
2 BCR-Pizza Hut-KHS (Costa Rica at 4:46
3 Plycem-JPS-Orbea (Costa Rica 10:00
9 Tour D'Quebec-GTH 2:42:57


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
WoB Save Sale Jan29
DOrnellas Bike Sale April 1
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login